EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

JAI #74 – Fancy Fold Cards

19 Comments

Hello bloggies!      BONUS POST ALERT — Scroll down to see earlier post for today! 

Guess what!!! I am giving you a bonus post today!!! Yes … I have had some time in the last couple of days to sit and stamp … and finally relax a little. :) But … I was working on this challenge last night … getting very frustrated. I was not happy with the final result … so I had to sit down this morning and do a second sample! The JAI team are having a ‘FANCY FOLDS BLOG HOP’ … what fun! You absolutely HAVE TO pop over and hop around the blog hop … because there are so many amazing ideas for that “special” card!!! Don’t miss out on this one!!! Click blog hop button to begin the hop! 

Now I have a confession to make before I start … the idea of this blog hop was to choose a fancy fold design that one of the design team had created. I DIDN’T read that bit!!! So … off I went and created my two “window fold” cards. But … I am hoping that this might be okay … as it is just a slight tweak on the “Marquee” style card that Jodene has shared. (What’s an extra fold between friends???) So … I am hoping that this is still acceptable for the challenge! 

So … for this challenge … I actually have 2 ENTRIES … here is the FIRST ENTRY (my 2nd attempt) …

I was MUCH happier with this card … than the design to follow! This was an idea that Julie (Jono’s mum) gave me … she has made a card for me recently similar to this design. I had also seen it on Madeline’s blog … and was keen to try it out. So … the blog hop … gave me the perfect excuse!

I have added a card recipe to the end of the post … if you would like the details &  measurements for this card! And … I have also created a step by step tutorial for my SECOND ENTRY … (my 1st & not so pleasing attempt!) Scroll down to view PDF tutorial & card recipe! 

So … here is my SECOND ENTRY I guess now that I look at it again …  it is not so bad???? :roll: :wink: It is a smaller version of the card above … and I have added the measurements for this one to the tutorial.

I was getting to the point of overtired when I did this card. So please excuse the fact that even though it was ALL meant to be sponged … there are the odd pieces that I forgot!!! It is a cute little card, though! :D I have used some old favourite Cottage Wall DSP … and teamed it with Pear Pizzazz cardstock. Here is the PDF tutorial for you to print out … if you are interested … click PDF pic to view! (Don’t forget … my white card is actually a bigger size … the measurements are on the card recipe at the end of the post!)

Well … that was a marathon! I will be interested to know which of these two cards YOU  prefer????? :?:  :D :wink: I am off to have another look at the blog hop! I finally have some time to stop and look properly. Then … later I hope to go and visit my mum! :D Take care … have a nice day! Hugs xxaxx

PS …. Scroll down for my Paper Players “Christmas in July” card … that I posted earlier this morning! xxx

19 thoughts on “JAI #74 – Fancy Fold Cards

  1. Hi Andrea,
    I can’t choose, I love them both, thanks for the directions.
    Rene from OZ xo
    Andrea adds: Thanks Rene … nice to know that the razzleberry one is not a dud!!! :wink: Hugs xxaxx

  2. These are perfect, Andrea! I haven’t seen this fancy fold before, totally gorgeous. Thank you as always for being so generous and thoughtful to provide your recipe! Thinking of you and your family xx
    Andrea adds: Hi Genelle! So nice to see you! I have missed my blog hopping … and haven’t popped by your blog for a while. But … fingers crossed … a windy night tonight will mean a cozy time in bed catching up! :D Hugs xxaxx

  3. Beautiful cards Andrea. I love the way you’ve used the punches on them. I particularly love the “Joy” ribbon band, it’s gorgeous! Glad you could play along with JAI this week :)
    Andrea adds: Thanks Kathy! It was a bit of a “blooper” challenge … but I hope they qualify?? Thanks for taking the time to say hi! Hugs xxaxx

  4. These are both great cards and I like how you have used the punches on them. My favourite would be the Christmas card I think, I love the soft colours you have used and the ribbon band. Thanks for playing this week at Just Add Ink.
    Andrea adds: I prefer the Christmas Card … definitely! Thanks for stopping by Mae! What a fun blog hop! So many fabulous ideas. Hugs xxaxx

  5. I especially love that beautiful Christmas card in that very fancy fold of yours – I’m sure all of us girls at JAI would say it qualifies. Thanks for sharing your awesome creativity.
    Andrea adds: Phew! Breathing a sigh of relief!!! I bet you giggled at my comments over at JAI! I am not sure where my brain was earlier today!!! Hugs xxaxx

  6. I have not idea how you managed to line this up so perfectly cause it looks spot on. I really love how you have the punched shape with the stamped image inside it…perfectly lined up. Chantell
    Andrea adds: I think it looks trickier than it really is! :D You do need to take a little care … but it really isn’t too hard! Stamping the image in the right spot is the trickiest part! Thanks for your lovely comment, Chantell. Hugs xxaxx

  7. These are so pretty Andrea. Love the fold, the punched opening… just perfect. The crunched band is lovely on the first one. Great color combos.
    Andrea adds: Hi Monika! So nice to see you! I am keen to try some more of these cards. They are not that hard. And … I think simple design is the best! Hugs xxaxx

  8. Thank you so much for the tutorial on your beautiful card! I just don’t venture often into Fancy Folds but you have made it so easy!

    I could not believe it when I woke up this morning and saw that you had been busily commenting on my blog. With everything going on in your life, I really will understand and still love you if you don’t take time to comment. (Of course, just visiting blogs is therapeutic and a lot cheaper than a relaxing visit to a spa or therapy! So I do hope you always find time to visit!)
    Andrea adds: Hi Kim! You are so kind! I don’t feel pressure to blog hop … I miss my blog buddies when I don’t get to do it. So … it is nice to take some “time out” to catch up occasionally! I am not too regular or reliable at the moment. But … I hate missing what my favs have been doing! (Especially YOU!) I have about 6 favourite blogs that give me so much inspiration & encouragement! And … then I have about another 30 or so … that I absolutely love to visit … for inspiration … but also to keep up friendships! So … when I don’t get to it … I am “itching” to visit! So glad I can return the favour (tutorial) … cos you are soooo generous with all your hints and tips! Hugs xxaxx

  9. I absolutely love the Christmas ornaments card!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Vicky! I was much happier with this sample! Hugs xxaxx

  10. I definitely think they qualify!! How could they not, when so much thought and effort has gone into creating these gorgeous cards. Thanks for playing along this week Andrea ♥
    Andrea adds: Thanks for the encouragement, Paula! I guess my only excuse for “mis-reading” the challenge … is that my brain hasn’t recovered after all the family crises over the last few months. I am still in recovery mode! :wink: Hugs xxaxx

  11. I’m having a tough time picking a favourite here, Andrea! I love the “garter” (LOL!) on the first one and the bold colours and fun flowers on the second one. I’ve never tried any fancy folds cards but after seeing your gorgeous creations I may have to give it a go. :)

    Hope your visit with your mum went well and that she’s feeling better.
    Andrea adds: This is quite an easy fancy fold to start with Jen. I am sure you would master it quickly! Thanks for leaving so much blog love here today! Hugs xxaxx

  12. WOW….not one, but two awsome creations! These are absolutely beautiful Andrea, Sorry but l cant decide which one l prefer, they both appeal for different reasons…:0)
    I do love the ribbon belly band though….very clever.
    So glad you had time to play along with the fancy folds challenge.
    Andrea adds: LOL … only because I am obsessive compulsive … and wasn’t happy with the first! But … it seems that it might not be so bad after all! Hugs xxaxx

  13. You’re right Andrea, what’s an extra fold between friends, especially when both of these cards are so beautiful. The Christmas one is my favourite, just love the colours you’ve used. Thanks for playing along at JAI this week. :)
    Andrea adds: You girls (DT team) are just the best!!! I am so glad you so generously allow them in the challenge! Thanks for your feedback … it is always welcome! Hugs xxaxx

  14. These are both great Andrea! And perfect for our challenge this week. It’s hard to pick a fave but if I had to it would probably be the Xmas one, I just love the soft colour scheme :) Thanks for playing along!
    Andrea adds: I am so happy that they fit the challenge. I was excited to play! (As you can see … two samples!!!) Thanks for popping by! Hugs xxaxx

  15. Wow, you have been busy Andrea! Both versions of your special fold are lovely, but the Christmas one is my favourite. Love the blue/white combo & the trio of ornaments inside. Thank you so much for taking the time to create & share the instructions. Hugs :)
    Andrea adds: I feel like I am making up for lost time! And … with Skye house bound … and needing help … I am also house bound for most of the time. (Apart from when one of the kids are around.) So … why not do some stamping??? Hugs xxaxx

  16. Two beautiful cards Andrea, would be hard to choose a favourite, though I am into chrissy cards at the moment lol. Great job!
    Andrea adds: Seems the Christmas one is the most popular! But … I am not surprised … cos that is the one I like better, too! Hugs xxaxx

  17. These are totally awesome!!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Leonie! Your enthusiasm just put a big smile on my face! :D Hugs xxaxx

  18. Firstly…Thanks for all the luvin and encouragement you left for me on my blog. I am so v v lucky to have you as a friend and encourager.
    These cards BOTH rock lovely. I do perhaps like the white one sl more, but the Razz one is fabbo too. Ta for the tute….have got it aside to squizz at later. These def have a wow factor to them. Ta so much for sharing them. They deserve all the luvin they receive….just as you do!!! ooxx
    Andrea adds: Well … there is one HUGE hug wrapped up in that wonderful comment! Thanks … needed it!!! :wink: Hugs xxaxx

  19. I love your first card. Probably all the cleanliness of it. Thanks for the tute on how to do it. I am inspired to give it a go.
    Don’t worry about whether the design team have done one… there can only be so many ways to fold a card anyway.

    Cheers
    Sonia
    Andrea adds: Seems the DT were all okay with this design … they were all very kind with their comments! Thanks for leaving so much blog love today! Hugs xxaxx