EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

FMS #23

11 Comments

Hi bloggies!

How was your weekend!? Mine was a lovely one. I had an early b’day party with Gav’s side of the family yesterday. Gav’s sister & hubby & kids are returning to Vanuatu (for missionary work) on Friday … a few days before my big “?-0″ birthday … and they asked if we could celebrate before they went back! How lovely! :D We are going to miss them heaps! We had ALL of Gav’s family here (as well as all my kids +) … so that made it really special! Anyway … bookwork to do … so onto today’s card! :wink: I LOVED the new sketch over at Freshly Made Sketches … and here is what I came up with …

So … a little different for me. No vanilla or white … except for a tiny touch on the DSP that I used! I had seen some similar colours used in blog land … with red added in tiny touches. So … sponged edges??? :?: I sat for ages … opened the Poppy ink … closed it …‘no … better use Espresso” … opened it again … and took the plunge!! Another touch of red with the ribbon … and I actually think it all worked quite well! What do you think?

I looked again at the DT samples … and the entries for this week … ALL BRIGHT AND HAPPY … and I felt mine looked a little dark & dreary. But … I thought I would submit it anyway! You may not have noticed … I used the script stamp from “Charming” to stamp the background of the Baja card. It is quite a nice touch IRL! Anyway … I am going to sit on the lounge today … laptop on lap … and do my work in front of the Oscars! I hope Merryl wins! Fingers crossed! Hugs xxx

11 thoughts on “FMS #23

  1. Not dark and dreary at all! I think the Poppy Parade sponging really gives this a kick! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Jen! So nice to have the positive feedback! Hugs xxx

  2. It’s 5pm and I am yet to find out anything Oscar related….gotta love the work bubble….LOL!!!! I do not think the card is dark or dreary at all….I think cause there is no WW or VV it just take a small amt of adjustment…that’s all and once that is done…it’s a winner!!! I personally think the red gives it just the right amt of oomph. Hope you got a lot of work (cough….Oscar watching) done. ooxx
    Andrea adds: Giggle … I must admit … work was a tad slow today! (As in … I was a tad slow!) But … I did get a bit done! Hope you have caught up on the Oscars news! thanks for popping by Lynda! Hugs xxx

  3. I love your description of your indecision – makes me feel better about the time I waste at my craft desk trying to decide between two things! I love the pop of red ribbon!
    Andrea adds: It is therapy to share with my friends! It might look like I am begging for attention … but you are right … if it helps someone else … then it is so worth the time! hugsx xx

  4. Oh yes … I love that pop of Poppy red, it brightens up the card and gives it that little element of surprise …love the use of the patterned paper on the panels …. great card Andrea!
    Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!!!
    Andrea adds: Giggle … You girls at FMS are always so lovely and encouraging with your comments! It gets me all excited to think “yes … they really liked it” … and maybe I am in with a chance! BUT … I think that is just the way you all are … no matter what the quality of entry is … LOVELY & ENCOURAGING! :wink: Thanks so much for taking the time to put a smile on my face today! Hugs xxx

  5. Love the red accent and the silver beads! And hooray for Meryl!
    Andrea adds: Yay! Well deserved, Meryl! thanks for your lovely comment. Hugs xxx

  6. I think your colors are really pretty! Lovely little details on this card! Glad you joined us at Freshly Made Sketches!
    Andrea adds: thanks Jen … for more encouragement from the wonderful FMS girls! Hugs xxx

  7. Love this Andrea. Your colours are very striking, yet very soft. I like how you turned the sketch!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Vicky! It is so nice to have your feedback! Hugs xxx

  8. Very pretty! I don’t find it dark and dreary either, sometimes we are our own worst critics :) I love the colors, your choice of DSP and the string of bling :)
    Andrea adds: Thanks Tracey! I popped by your blog to say hi … and found a delicious card to CASE! Hugs xxx

  9. Aha, rotating the sketch – maybe that’s what I should have tried? I found this asymmetrical layout quite daunting Andrea, with that panel off to the side. It works much better for me this way, lol. Love your “Charming” background panel – the little blooms & script work beautifully to highlight the sentiment.
    Sounds like you had a fabulous weekend, celebrating your upcoming “special” birthday! Hugs :)
    Andrea adds: Isn’t that Charming set so gorgeous! LOL … must remember NOT to tell you any more secrets!!! :wink: But … then … I’m not much good with secrets either!!! :D Hugs xxx

  10. Great card! I love it. When is your b’day? Can’t remember now that you’ve vanished off Facebook. Hope you celebrate well,
    Fi xox
    Andrea adds: SSSssshhh … don’t tell anyone … but it is next Monday (5th)! You are a sweetie! Hugs xxx

  11. Beautiful card Andrea! I love everything about it! Great job on the sketch as well :) Hugs to you!
    Andrea adds: Hi Leslee! Thanks for sending some nice blog love! Hugs xxx