EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Fun & Fast Notes Faux Tearing

4 Comments

I wanted to share a cute card that I did at my workshop on Saturday. I love the new “Fun & Fast Notes” stamp set – you can make really cute cards REALLY QUICKLY with this stamp set! My guests were mostly Stampin’ Up! “groupies” and so I also wanted to share a new technique with them! Hint: Double click on the image for an enlarged image!Fun & Fast Notes - Faux Tear

I started with Pretty in Pink 21cm x 10.5cm card stock – scored to fold as a 10.5×10.5 card. Take a piece of scrap paper (at least 10.5 cm wide) and tear across the end. Hold the torn edge on the bottom of your card  with the torn edge facing the top of the card and use a sponge dauber to sponge ink along the edge of the paper and onto the card. I used Pretty in Pink for my inking  … but some of my guests used the contrasting Purely Pomegranate (one of our fabulous new “in-colours”) and this was quite spectacular! Next … move your paper up a few mms – hold it securely on your card – and with your back ground stamp (also with Pretty in Pink ink) stamp your background slightly overlapping the “torn edge” of the paper. I used one of the cute little brand new “Boho Backgrounds” stamps & just random stamped over the background! Isn’t it a fantastic effect!

Our little cup & phrase was stamped on “Whisper White” card stock and layered on “Taken with Teal” & “Purely Pomegranate”. Using your coordinating markers … paint colour onto your stamp image to create a multi-coloured image! HINT: For “Purely Pomegranate” (no marker available) … try using a blender pen to pick up the colour from your stamp pad (as you would for watercolouring) and paint onto your stamp image. The colour is not as deep as a marker … but still works quite well! Finish off your stamped pic with a little watercolouring … use a blender pen to pick up colour from your stamp pad & paint your image … BUT … because we have not used permanent ink for the stamped image … be careful not to blend the colour right to the lines of the image. Finish off with a pretty ribbon & mount your pic with dimensionals! My guests just loved this one!

4 thoughts on “Fun & Fast Notes Faux Tearing

  1. I have been struggling to get the correct texture in my “purely pomegranate” colouring – Do you have any hints for me? Because i agree it is spectacular! I have the dimensionals figured out ok but the daubers dont fit on my fingers properly – Do you know where i can get bigger daubers?
    Stampin’ Hugs Right back at ya!

    Like

  2. You are such a dag, Grahame! You may mock … but I know secretly you are really proud of me!!! 🙂 And I can give plenty of hugs!!! 🙂 Andrea

    Like

  3. Hey Grahame. Just got some advice for your issues with your stampin up work (oops I almost spelt stampin with a g but that would be so not cool)

    Firstly, try combining your “purely pomeegranate” with “more mustard” to give you a complementary colour combination.

    Secondly, to ‘fix’ your ‘fingers problem’ place your fingers in cool water for a prolonged period to reduce the swelling built up in your fingers due to pregnancy, then the daubers should fit.

    PS Andrea – aka the bestest mother-in-law in the world I think you rock!

    Rock ON !!

    (ahem I mean stamp ON!)

    Like

  4. You guys have given us all a laugh! I have just read your comments out loud to I, C & R. The pregnancy fat fingers was specially funny!

    Like