EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Black Magic Fabulous Flowers

2 Comments

Hi there! Sorry … it has been a few days … but it is harder to get here when the kids are home on holidays. Seems that there is a lot more running around to do … and more movie watching!!! … just generally spending more time with the kids!  🙂 I wanted to show you a gorgeous card that Ness (my wonderful “upline”) sent to me recently! Where does she find the time to be such an inspiration – her cards usually arrive just when I need some special encouragement! This is a new technique she has just learnt and is called “Black Magic”. Check out her website for details on how to do this great technique.  YOU can do it … all you need is some whisper white craft ink, black card stock, watercolour pencils & a white signo ball pen. It is such a pretty look … I am going to try it with my new Garden Whimsy stamp set! I just have a picture in my head … and need to get it down onto card!!! :)) Will post my creation as soon as it is done! Oh … And … don’t you just love the scallop border Ness has created? This is done by taking the guide off your corner rounder punch and overlapping (at just the right amount) to create the scallop edge. And then Ness has used her paper piercer to put a hole in each scallop that gives it a pretty brodraise anglais look! Keep watching for my black magic card! Stampin’ Hugs, Andrea

Added Tues 15th: Here is my first attempt at “Black Magic”. I would love to know what you think!

Cardstock colours used: Almost Amethyst, Always Artichoke, Pumpkin Pie, Rose Red. I have matched my watercolour pencils as close as possible to these colours and added a little “So Saffron” as well. The colour combination was another Colour Coach suggestion.

All images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ®1997 – 2008. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock & Vanessa Webb

2 thoughts on “Black Magic Fabulous Flowers

  1. Hi Andrea,
    As usual, all your creations are delightful. Now we need to know how you did your garden whimsey card ( that stamp set is on my wish list) It looks fantastic. I have had my mum here for the last week, and we have had a great time ‘stampin up’. The kids have been sick, but we did not mind being at home, we had plenty to do. Now I’ve got the cold and feel a bit rotten. I always check your blog, its a great way to keep up to date with you.
    Love Julie A
    Added by Andrea (Tues 15th): So nice to hear from you, Julie. You will love this technique! Just stamp with “whisper white” then allow to dry or dry off with heat tool. Then colour in with watercolour pencils! Highlight with white signo gel pen. EASY! Check out the link to Ness’ page as highlighted above. She gives more detail! Thanks for responding!

    Like

  2. I have seen this technique on a few blogs now and everyone has used the same flower stamp so congratulations on trying a different stamp set (I don’t have the large flower one so I have not ventured to try it).
    Added by Andrea: Thanks, Karen for your congrats! I was the same as you … I didn’t have the fabulous flower set and thought that this technique should be ok for any “block” type stamp. I have tried the “chalkboard” technique on black card … and that looks great … but this technique is really easy and actually is neater & cleaner than the chalks and you have more control as to where the colour is put. I am so glad you liked it!

    Like