EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

The Sweetest Thing

1 Comment

All images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2008. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock

Hi everyone! I hope you had a nice weekend? Mine was pretty frantic once again! My dad is not well and ended up back in hospital yesterday. Some sort of infection but the doctors are still investigating! He has Parkinsons Disease and is quite frail so any sort of infection really knocks him around! Hopefully a course or two of antibiotics and he will be home again soon!

I wanted to share another new creation with one of the most gorgeous stamp sets in the new mini catalogue called “A Beautiful Thing”. I really love this set … how is it possible to have so many “favourite” stamp sets??? 🙂 😕

This card also highlights the “Poppin’ Pastels” technique using the Stampin’ Pastels – this is a VERY SIMPLE technique that is soooooo impressive! I have also used another technique called “2-step stamping” which uses 2 stamps specially designed to be stamped on top of each other. I hope you will try both of these techniques out for yourself – they are so easy.

Main Cardstock: Tempting Turquoise (A5 – scored in half & also 8.5 x 4cm piece), Cameo Coral (13.8 x 9.5 cm), Whisper White (12.8 x 8.5cm)

The background on the WW card is done using the “Fine Lace” background stamp – inked with versamark. The background stamps are fantastic for giving an overall image to your card. Versamark is our “invisible ink” pad which gives a watermark (no colour) image on your cardstock. Use a sponge dauber to “bounce” some pastel chalk onto the image and the versamark image will become the colour of the chalk. (Don’t RUB your chalk onto the image or you will smudge the ink). I have used Tempting Turquoise & Cameo Coral pastel colours. I have added a gorgeous phrase “The Sweetest Thing” – which is a brand new “rub on” from the “Eastern Elegance” pack in the mini catty. These rub ons do add a certain “elegance” to your cards and are so easy to use! Just cut around your phrase, peel off the protective backing, place in position on your card & rub on with the paddle pop stick that is included in the pack. Carefully peel off the top to leave behind the phrase.

“A Beautiful Thing” has an adorable 2-step stamp combination that I have used for the flowers on this card. First stamp the background flower onto a scrap of whisper white card with versamark ink. Then, add some pastel colour with sponge daubers to the petals of the flower and a contrast colour to the centres. (Cameo Coral & Tempting Turquoise – reversed for one flower). Then, using Basic Black (or StayzOn Black) ink – stamp the pretty outline stamp (2nd of the 2-step stamp combo) on the top of the pastel colour. Cut around each flower leaving a small edge around the black outline. Punch a hole in the centre of each flower with the 2mm handheld punch & add a black brad to each.

Assemble your card as the pic shows … I have just simply snailed the flowers onto the card, but you could lift them with dimensionals if you prefer. Add a piece of black ribbon – this ties in the black ink on the flowers & the black rub on & really finishes it off! Have a go! You will find this simple but “WOW”!

Don’t forget that all the products in the new Spring Mini Catalogue are ONLY available from Aug 1 to Nov 30. These are limited edition … so get in quick with your orders! Email / Fax or phone your order through to me and I can help you with payment & arrange delivery to your door!

Here is another card using the same techniques, rub ons & stamp sets … but on this card I have also mounted the flowers on card to create a frame and then rolled the edges of each petal to stand up off the card. The colours for this card were from our Colour Coach: Orchid Opulence, Rose Red, Brilliant Blue, Handsome Hunter on Yo Yo Yellow background.

I do hope you are enjoying my “Card Inspirations” & are trying out some of these ideas for yourself! Don’t forget to leave a comment for this post! I love to have some feedback!

Stampin’ Hugs, Andrea

One thought on “The Sweetest Thing

  1. I really love this stamp set as well! It’s on my wish list. I just hope I get to it before the catalogue runs out. I am being a bit practical though – already have a few flower sets, so trying to build up different stamps! I have finally splurged and ordered the summer by the sea set. I have been wanting that one for ages – it looks so great with watercolours! So even though I can’t copy some of your cards, Andrea, I still come on to look and admire! I think you could make a very profitable little business selling your cards! They are beautiful!
    Andrea adds: If only I had the time! And … I hope you enjoy your new stamp set … I will send you a link with a great watercolour tutorial! I hope it inspires you!

    Like