EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Brayer some colour – Photo Layout

Brayer layers

Brayer layers

Hello again! I was telling my stamp club girls that I think brayering would be great for photo layouts! So … I thought I would try a quick one! This is just a 6″ X 6″ photo layout. I have had this photo for a while … and couldn’t work out what to do with it. So … I just looked at the sky, grass & bitumen colours and tried to do a background that melded with the photo.

Technique process:

  1. I softly brayered some “Sahara Sand” across the bottom 1/3 of the whisper white card square
  2. And then I added some “Soft Sky” across the top of the square and down to meet the Sahara Sand
  3. I added next a section of “Certainly Celery” through the centre to highlight the grass in the photo
  4. Then I brayered a little “Mellow Moss” along the bottom edge – & with the Sahara this looks a little like the bitumen driveway in the photo
  5. I added some more  brayered colour along the top edge with “Bordering Blue” ink
  6. Lastly I sponged some extra Bordering Blue around all four sides along the edges to give a bit more depth to the colour – and I exaggerated the sponging in the corners.
Brayered Background for photo layout

Brayered Background for photo layout

So here is the final photo layout … you can see that the colour layers were designed to match with the background on the photo.

Extra touches: Corners were punched with the Photo Corners punch & then pricked with a paper piercer & mat pack. I have also added some of the silver pieces from the BRAND NEW (& limited edition) Styled Silver Hodgepodge Hardware. Don’t you love those designer brads in the bottom left corner. This hardware kit is part of the Spring Mini Catalogue and is ONLY AVAILABLE until the 30th November. So if you would like some new shiny embellishments to play with … make sure you order these from me ASAP … before you miss out! $57.95 + p&h.

So … our first stamp club technique class is done … I am off to discover something new and exciting for our next class! Don’t forget to email me if you would like to join a Stamp Club. I am taking names NOW for a class that is starting in January! I need 6 members to fill the class!

All images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2008. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock

Stampin’ Hugs

Comments are closed.