EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Taking time to breathe!

1 Comment

Hi everyone!

I know … I know … I promised yesterday to return with something pretty … and just didn’t make it! Sorry! Ever had one of those days where you just get unexpected interruption after interruption … and you get to the end of the day and wonder just what you actually did all day? It was one of those days! 😀 Don’t ask me what I did … I just know I was busy all day!!!

But … with only 3 more days of school … and all the ‘BIG’ events out of the way … I am now officially taking some time to breathe! (Actually … with sausage sizzle duty at the school Christmas celebration which is on tonight … maybe tomorrow is a good time to “officially” start to breathe! Perhaps I will just take a single inhale today!)  😀

See what happens when I am tired! I start to get “silly”! How about I give you something pretty … like I promised!

faux-silk-001Our last Stamp Club for the year was on last night … and here is the lovely technique which we learnt! It is called “Faux Silk” and is SUPER easy!  You can use all your usual stamping techniques with this Faux Silk technique … but for this particular sample I have stamped with Black Stazon Ink onto some white tissue paper (yes … just the gift wrapping tissue you can get in Woolies) Then I have used my markers to colour in all the little flowers! The next step to scrunch your stamped tissue paper into a ball and then carefully unscrunch it so you don’t tear the paper. Don’t feel the need to smooth the wrinkles! They are what gives it the “silk look”. Then … spread glue all across the card you are using as a background and press the tissue onto the card … again … don’t feel the need to smooth out the wrinkles! 😀 Can you resist? I have then added some dazzling diamonds to the flowers with a 2-way glue pen (but this is optional)

Stamp Set: Simply Said + Short & Sweet

Cardstock  & Markers used: Very Vanilla, Pretty in Pink, Always Artichoke, Not Quite Navy.

Ribbon: White grosgrain dyed with Not Quite Navy Marker

Here are a couple of other cards using the same technique.

su-nov08-cards-007su-nov08-cards-001

These two are both done using Stamp Pads & an Aqua Painter to paint the colour on. If you try this watercolouring … be sure not to have your aqua painter TOO wet … or you will put a hole in the paper. (I wouldn’t recommend the Blender pen for the watercolouring as it may also tear the paper).

_______________________________________________________

su-nov-cards-08-002su-nov-cards-08-001And another couple using the BRAND NEW Summer Mini “Eastern Blooms” stamp set. The one on the left is created by inking directly onto the stamp with 2 different colour markers – then stamp onto tissue. And the one on the right is simply stamped with black ink … but the tissue is glued onto coloured card (soft sky) instead of onto white or vanilla.

So … I hope you like all these variations. Faux Silk is a technique you can combine with all your usual stamping techniques … and all create quite a different effect!

Have a try for yourself! I’d love to see your ideas!

All images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2008. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock

Stampin’ Hugs

One thought on “Taking time to breathe!

  1. These are so pretty Andrea! What an awesome technique 🙂
    Hi Ness! Yes … very pretty technique … and sooooo easy!

    Like