EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Christmas Fudge

2 Comments

Hello!

Here are some of my finished fudge gift bags! I love how easy a gift this is to make … and how “spectacular”. And … if I do say so myself … my fudge is pretty fantastic! YUM!!! 😀

fudge-bags-001

Gift Tag Details:

  • Cardstock: Handsome Hunter, Whisper White, Real Red, Old Olive
  • Stamp: “Star” Wheel Stamp, “Cheer & Wishes”
  • Inks Used: Read Red, Whisper White
  • Accessories: Real Red grosgrain ribbon, Stars punched with small & large star punches, Cord.

HHHmmm … perhaps I should keep my fudge recipe a secret??? My fudge is just like the old fashioned fudge that we bought as kids from the local church fete. It is the same taste & texture … so whenever I eat it … memories come flooding back!  (It’s not the sloppy condensed milk kind of fudge! 😀 )

I am so generous … I am going to share it …  BECAUSE IT ONLY TAKES MINUTES TO MAKE!!! How could I keep this to myself!!! 😀

VANILLA FUDGE RECIPE

Ingredients: (for basic recipe)

  • 500g Icing Sugar (not Icing Mixture)
  • 1/2 cup Granulated Sugar (normal sugar)
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 100g butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • Extra Icing Sugar (or Mixture)

Method:

  • Put everything except vanilla into microwave bowl – top with butter
  • Microwave on high for 3 minutes
  • Add vanilla
  • Stir well for about 3 minutes – until all lumps are beaten in
  • Add extra icing sugar – a little at a time – until mixture is starting to roll away from the side of the bowl as you stir it – not quite a “dough” mix … but fairly firm
  • Press into square cake tin
  • Refrigerate for about 5 mins … then cut into small squares while still soft
  • Refrigerate another 5 mins & cut again (This is much easier than cutting when completely set!)
  • Refrigerate until set

OPTIONAL EXTRAS:

  • Chocolate Fudge:    Add 2-3 tablespoons of cocoa instead of vanilla
  • Caramel Fudge:    Add 2 tablespoons of golden syrup or brown sugar instead of vanilla
  • Nut Fudge:   Add chopped walnuts to any of the above variations
  • Coconut Ice:   Add 2 cups dessicated coconut BEFORE adding extra icing sugar … continue as per above instructions (adding icing sugar) … when ready … press 1/2 mixture into tin & add 2 drops red food colouring to 2nd 1/2 of mix & press onto top of white layer

So … now you all know my secret recipe! I hope you have a chance to try it! It is a great treat for Christmas … and like I mentioned … VERY QUICK TO MAKE!

Have a great day!

Back tomorrow with my VERY LAST CHRISTMAS CARD!!! 😀

All images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2008. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock

Stampin’ Hugs

2 thoughts on “Christmas Fudge

  1. Hi Andrea
    Your very good making gift tags as well. I made buscuits with some lollies for Christmas bags (30 of them in total) making over 500 biscuits I did not have any further energy. I finished some scrapbookiing pages last night about midnight which is a total of 10 pages in the last week as Christmas gifts for friends, don’t think I will do this again as I had to source the photos from their friends and family and then I only received some of them on Wednesday this week. Looking forward to relaxing after Christmas, why do we do this year after year….Have a great Christmas and I enjoy viewing your blog.
    Andrea adds: Happy Christmas Kathryn! Wow! 500 biscuits … that would have taken much longer than my 3 batches of fudge! I hope you have a lovely Christmas with family & friends! And … take some time out for yourself! Would love to see some of those photo pages … are you going to post them?

    Like

  2. Hi Andrea – we tried your recipes for Christmas fudge too! I did a choc fudge, a caramel (though it could have done with a bit more caramel) and a coconut ice! They taste great! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
    Andrea adds: Glad you enjoyed my recipe & glad it worked ok! Mum didn’t have as much success … but hers was still nice!

    Like