EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Tri-fold Fun!

2 Comments

Hi everyone! Hope your day has been a good one! I have been at the zone swimming carnival with Sandy (10yr old son) in Nowra. (1 hours drive away) ALLLLLLL DAY!!! Yep! He happened to qualify for EVERY event … so we had to leave at 7am to be there for the first event … and arrived home at 3.45pm after the last event finished! It is really funny … leading up to the carnival …  I had constantly commented that 3rd place is GREAT!!! (1st & 2nd place go to state – a 2 hr drive to Blacktown) so … 3rd is good!!! He actually thought I was serious! He decided not to train this week  … so that he would come third!!! Isn’t he gorgeous! So … I had to say “just do your best”. (Hoping secretly that he would place third!) The last 3 yrs he has qualified for state and I have diligently taken him there for 2 races! And … I would be happy to do that again! Every year I “psych” him up … and remind him that he doesn’t do swim training … he doesn’t have a swim coach … one of these years the squad swimmers are going to improve past him … and he needs to be prepared for that! But … each year he proves me wrong! Perhaps … this year might be different??? And … yes! He did really well … a couple of thirds … a third in the relay … and a couple of other places … but NO seconds or firsts!!! So … no STATE! Yippee!!! (Sssshhhh … don’t tell him I said that!!!)

Anyway, I wasn’t popping by just for another “kid brag” … I just got a little sidetracked!

Amy's Trifold Card

Amy's Trifold Card

I found this super cute card on Amy’s blog. And … told Amy that it was so gorgeous that I needed to CASE (copy & selectively edit) it for a workshop demo. She was more than happy for me to do so! Isn’t this just so sweet!

________________________________

Attempt no. 1 - Just really thought this was far too fussy! Scrap this one!

Attempt no. 1 - Just really thought this was far too fussy! Scrap this one!

Anyway, I decided that I wouldn’t just steal Amy’s design … but would try doing one for myself … And …

____________________________________

Attempt no. 2 - Yuck! Good in theory ... but just didn't cut it in practice! Scrap this one!

Attempt no. 2 - Yuck! Good in theory ... but just didn't cut it in practice! Scrap this one!

It wasn’t such a great day for Andrea’s “mojo”. It was just not happening that day!

______________________________

Attempt no. 3 - I actually loved this one ... but punching through 3 layers wouldn't work ... so had to take time to match the punched sections ... THIS WOULD BE TOOOOOOO FIDDLY FOR A DEMO!!! Scrap this one!

Attempt no. 3 - I actually loved this one ... but punching through 3 layers wouldn't work ... so had to take time to match the punched holes in the 3 layers, separately ... THIS WOULD BE TOOOOOOO FIDDLY FOR A DEMO!!! Scrap this one!

But … I didn’t give up … and actually quite like the next attempt!

__________________________________

I decided that none of these were going to work for a demo! And … had to try one JUST LIKE AMY’S! The moral … when you see something perfect … don’t try to improve it!!! 😀

Attempt no. 4 - Why ... O ... Why didn't I just stick with this one?

Attempt no. 4 - Why ... O ... Why didn't I just stick with this one?

So … here is my workshop demo sample! I could’ve saved myself a lot of heartache … if I had just stuck with Amy’s design! 😀 I can hear Amy laughing from NZ even now!

______________________________

fishy-tri-fold-001And … here is the inside … so you can actually see how this trifold card works!

__________________________________

Andrea’s Card Recipes:

No. 1 – Bali Breeze DSP, Colours: Soft Sky, Pumpkin Pie, Taken with Teal; Stamp Set: Eastern Blooms; Punches: 1 1/4″ Circle, Scallop Circle, Slit punch; Accents: Chunky Sprinkles & Grosgrain Ribbon

No. 2 – Almost Amethyst DSP; Colours: Almost Amethyst, Elegant Eggplant; Stamp Set: A Happy Heart; Punches: Slit punch; Accents: Sponged ink & Chunky Sprinkles

No. 3 – Colours: Whisper White, Pink Passion; Stamp Set: A Happy Heart; Punches: Scallop Square, Slit; Accents: non SU! pink organza ribbon.

No. 4 – Bali Breeze DSP; Colours: Blue Bayou, Whisper White; Stamp Set: Fishy Friends; Punches: 1 1/4″ Circle Punch, Scallop Circle, Slit; Watercolour Pencils: Olive, Blue, Yellow & Blender Pen; Accents: Blue Bayou Ribbon, Dazzling Diamonds

signature-picAll images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2009. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock

2 thoughts on “Tri-fold Fun!

  1. OHHH Andrea you are far to sweet for your own good!!!! I loved your other cards-isn’t it funny we often don’t like our own cards I always look at other peoples cards and think oh mine stink why do I bother!
    Your son must be a real natural swimmer to have gotten so far with no extra help (awesome).
    hey Andrea could you e-mail your postal address I really want to send you something 🙂
    Andrea adds: Hi Amy! Not sweet … just honest! Thanks for your encouragement, though!!!

    Like

  2. Andrea these cards are adorable!! I like them all and your MOJO is working for me girl! 🙂 Con’grats to your son Sandy for his swimming carnival… I know what you mean about all the travel! LOL! We’re back home from my Grandma’s funeral and getting into our routine. I haven’t stamped since last Thursday so I’m having “WITHDRAWLS”!! I work tomorrow, but hope to get into my craft room by Thursday night and Friday! Hugs… 🙂
    Andrea adds: Poor Michelle … you must really be missing your stamping! I hope you are feeling ok after your sad loss … I have been thinking about you! So nice to have you back!

    Like