EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

“Friends 24-7” again!

7 Comments

28/5: Another sheduled post – hope it arrives Sunday morning (AUS EST)

Mmmmmmmm … yes … I did have fun playing with this new set … and felt VERY satisfied with these (& yesterday’s) cards. And … I love being able to share them once again with you! (My new computer is FANTABULOUS … but still needs more “fine tuning”) I hope you like these two!!

Friends 24-7 cI absolutely LOOOOOVE this colour combination and think that this is probably the nicest of the 4 cards I did with this set. (Oh … and I do plan to do more!!!! 😉 ) I was really happy with the whole design … and especially loved the way you can layer images with this set. You can see on the main card image I have added some soft flourishes (stamped off) in the kiwi kiss & baja breeze … run my Friendly words wheel across the bottom in choc chip & added the main flower image over it all … also in choc chip! (I did mask the words across the bottom before stamping the flowers with a post it note … so the flowers didn’t cover the words.)

Friends 24-7 c (3)I also re-stamped the flower image onto a scrap & coloured the flowers with ink & blender pen … cut these out individually … added a little “bling” and mounted with dimensionals. (I’m not sure if you can see this in the pic above?) But … I have included a close up … to show you!

_____________________________________

Friends 24-7 c (2)The phrase has been stamped twice to give a shadow effect – I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig to make sure I positioned this perfectly! I also only stamped the “Friends” as the shadow by inking the stamp with ink & then wiping the ink from the other words with a baby wipe! (A Baja Breeze in-colour marker would have been easier … but … of course … is not available! Another way is to pick up some ink with a blender pen … and paint it onto the stamp where you want it!) Either way works well.

______________________________________________

Friends 24-7 c (1)Card Recipe:

  • Stamp Sets: “Friends 42-7” & “Friendly Words” Jumbo Wheel Stamp
  • Cardstock & Papers: Baja Breeze Patterns DSP, Chocolate Chip, Kiwi Kiss, Baja Breeze & Whisper White Cardstock
  • Inks: Kiwi Kiss, Baja Breeze, Chocolate Chip
  • Accessories: Chocolate Chip Grosgrain ribbon, Flower Brad, Dazzling Diamonds, 2-way glue pen, Eyelet Border Punch, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Paper Piercer & Mat Pack.

Friends 24-7 d (1)So … here is my last sample (for now!) 😀 Even though this bird image is not really my cup of tea … I was determined to use it. And I actually was really pleased with how it turned out!  I kinda CASED the design from two different samples in the Idea Book & Catalogue! Again I have layered images! On the main image I have stamped some Bashful Blue flowers as a soft background image (I hope you can see that in the pic???) … and then added the bird on top in Riding Hood Red. The blue bird is stamped again on scrap & added with dimensionals.

Friends 24-7 d (2)I have used the flourish stamp as a soft background on the blue card and the Friendly Words Wheel stamp has been rolled across the RHR strip of card. The “Friends” phrase is punched with the Word Window punch … but … as it is a little longer than the punch … the secret is to stamp the image … and cut a strip just slightly narrower than the width of the punch … and feed ONE end through and punch just ONE end at a time! (Does that make sense??? 😕 )

Friends 24-7 dAnother clever hint from Convention: I have pulled the Rhinestone out of the Rhinestone Brad and stuck it directly to the RHR tiny flower. This is a great technique if you are wanting to add a brad to a small piece of card and you can’t hide the brad “wings”. All you need is to undo the tiny clips on the back … open up the wings completely and the rhinestone pops out! Simple! And … so effective!

Card Recipe:

  • Stamp Sets: “Friends 24-7” & “Friendly Words” jumbo wheel
  • Cardstock: Bashful Blue, Riding Hood Red, Whisper White
  • Inks: Bashful Blue, Riding Hood Red
  • Marker: Always Artichoke (leaves & foot of bird)
  • Accessories: Blue Rhinestone Brad, Bashful Blue Wide grosgrain ribbon, Trio Flower Punch, 5-petal flower punch, Sponge daubers, Word Window punch, Scallop Edge Punch

I really like this colour combination! I think the secret with some of the bolder new incolours is to find a soft colour that combines well. I love the way these two colours work so well  … with the white, too!

Friends 24-7 samples (1)

If you are feeling inspired after seeing these “Friends 24-7” cards (I know I just fell in love with this set as soon as I watched Shelli demo it) … you can order this set from me at any time. I love receiving order emails!!! 😀 Just email me with your payment details … and I can have it shipped directly to your door within a few days! You might like to add the “Friendly Words” jumbo wheel … because it just fits so well with the stamp set. Don’t forget to add your p&h … all ordering information can be found on my “Orders” page.

signature-picIt is so nice to be able to show you some of my cards, again! Don’t forget to leave me a comment! I love to hear from my blog friends!

Images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2009 Artwork by Andrea Lowcock

7 thoughts on ““Friends 24-7” again!

  1. I love that top card Andrea. Beautiful.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Leigh! Have to admit … of the four … it was my favourite! 😀 I just love Choc Chip!!! And this colour combo is gorgeous! Off to visit your blog!!!

    Like

  2. These are gorgeous Andrea – have just received this set and am inspired by your wonderful cards!
    xXx
    Andrea adds: I am so glad to have inspired you, Debbie! That is such a compliment! But … I have Shelli to thank for convincing me to buy that set! Congrats on winning Keesh’s last challenge. Your card was just so sweet! I love visiting your blog & will stop by asap!! xo

    Like

  3. Andrea, you are such a clever lady 🙂 I love these cards you have made……I was not really keen on Friends 24-7 but I think it is a set I am going to HAVE to buy LOL! you have sold me on it….hahha
    Thanks for sharing your wonderful creations & I hope you are having a sensational time away with hubby 😀
    hugs
    Tan xox
    Andrea adds: Funny you should say that … I wasn’t that keen either until I saw Shelli demo at Convention. She SOLD me on it!!! I love using it now … and really wonder at my taste in stamp sets!! I am always getting it wrong! 😉 Oh … and … Gav & I had a FAB time away! It was a lovely escape! 😀

    Like

  4. I love all of the cards you have created with this set Andrea. Awesome idea re the rhinestone too. The Baja, Kiwi and Chocolate card is my fave. Well done and I hope you continue to enjoy playing around with this set.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Lynda! You are so sweet! I am sure I am going to use this set time after time! Thanks again for stopping by & taking the time to say hi!

    Like

  5. Hi Andrea,
    I was the lucky recipient of one of these cards for my birthday. Thanks so very much. Like you, I love the colour combo of baja breeze, choc chip, and kiwi kiss. There is something very exciting in opening a card that you know will be hand made. Yours gave me all the delight you intended me to have.
    Love Julie
    Andrea adds: I’m so glad you liked it, Julie! I wanted to give you something special for your birthday! Hope you had a lovely day! 😀 (And … don’t forget … you are now THE SAME AGE as me!!!) Just thought you might have overlooked that!!! 😉 😀 XXOO

    Like

    • It’a a pleasure to be the same age as you, Andrea, as I think you are only around your mid 30’s???? I lost track a while ago, but I am sure we are only around that age????? (wishful thinking!!!!)
      Andrea adds: LOL Julie … who are we kidding???

      Like

  6. Hi again,
    I have just scrolled down further on your blog,Andrea, and realized how far behind I had got with checking you out. I didn’t do much blogging last week, as our internet slowed right down – an end of month problem that shouldn’t occur, until we found out that 2 of our ‘big’ children (19 & 17) had been watching tv on utube (totally forbidden in our house for preciseley the reason that occurred.) But I am back on ‘speed’ now, and can see how busy you have been. I will have to have a go at your colour challenge.
    Julie
    Andrea adds: LOL … can imagine Steph & Nic were not in the good books!!! So glad to have you back again! I am waiting for your challenge card! Hurry up!!! 😉

    Like