EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Embellishment Challenge

4 Comments

Hi guys!

Now … this was a different kind of challenge (from our cyberstamping weekend) … and I must admit … the second half of this was done REALLY quickly … as I had a thumping headache and just wanted to go to bed …

The first part of this challenge was to create some gift tags using “new embellishments & old ribbon” … here is my attempt!

Embellish Challenge 1 tags

You can see that I based these tags on one of the recent Christmas cards that I made for my Christmas in July event. So … it didn’t take long at all. But … I have to say … I haven’t had these flower designer brads for long … and I think they make a stunning addition to a card! Don’t you think??? So … that is one part of the challenge criteria … NEW Flower Designer Brads … and the OLD??? … this was the pretty white SU! organza ribbon … which is no longer available (why??? I am so not sure … cos it is really pretty ribbon! … and really useful!!!)

Tag Recipe:

  • Stamp Set: Snow Swirled
  • Cardstock: Almost Amethyst, Soft Sky (ret. in colour), Pretty in Pink
    • Cut for each colour – 10 x 6 cm + 10 x 5.5 cm + scrap for scallop circle embellishment
    • Cut extra for bag topper: Almost Amethyst – 13 x 11 cm + extra scrap for another scallop circle
  • Inks: Versamark (embossing), Whisper White (sponging on edges)
  • Extras: Eyelet Border Punch, Lge Flower Brads, Dazzling Diamonds/Heat & Stick powder combo (snowflakes), Silver Embossing powder (phrase), Heat Tool, Embossing Buddy, Powder Pals, Sponge Dauber

Embellish Challenge 1 packI also created a gift pack with a cellophane bag and a topper to display these tags and make them into a gift for someone special! Isn’t this a lovely idea for a gift!? 😀 Sorry about the photography. I have decided it really is much better to photograph cards in daylight … rather than trying to get a good balance between colour & flash! To catch the sparkle often means that the pic is washed out or the colour isn’t accurate! And … because these are in cellophane … that made it even harder!!! Note to self: ONLY PHOTOGRAPH CARDS DURING THE DAY!!!

So … the 2nd half of the embellishment challenge …

Create a card using “old embellishments & new ribbon” … now remember … by this stage the headache was setting in … so you will have to overlook the uneveness of the brads along the bottom!!! I like the effect … I just wish I took a little more time placing them better!!!

Embellish Challenge 2

So … this adorable stamp image is from “A Kind Word” from the current IB&C. I love this little set … and really should use it more often.

Card Recipe:

  • Stamp Sets: A Kind Word, Oval All (Spring Mini Catalogue)
  • Inks: Basic Brown stamp pad and Markers: Apricot Appeal, Only Orange, Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip, Pretty in Pink, Cameo Coral, Creamy Caramel, Certainly Celery
  • Cardstock:
    • Whisper White – 10.5 x 29.6 cm + 14.2 x 9.9 cm + 8.7 x 6.5 cm + scrap for oval
    • Tangerine Tango – 10.2 x 14.5 cm
    • Tangerine Tango Patterns DSP – 12.5 x 7 cm
    • Sweet Always DSP (Chocolate) – 12.5 x 3 cm + scrap for oval
    • Chocolate Chip – 9.2 x 6.8 cm
  • Accents:
    • OLD: Copper “vintage” brads (ret. SU!)
    • NEW: Tangerine Tango striped grosgrain ribbon
  • Punches: Large oval punch, Scallop Oval punch (Spring Mini Catalogue)

Phew! So … that is another marathon post … with plenty of ideas for you to try! I think I have now showed you all my Cyberstamp projects. (All the ones I found time to finish) It was a fun weekend … and I really enjoyed meeting some Aussie demos and spending a bit of time chatting & giggling & competing in the challenges! I hope you enjoyed seeing them all!

But … don’t worry … I have plenty more to share! Be back soon!!! 😉 😀

Images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2009.  Artwork by Andrea Lowcock.

4 thoughts on “Embellishment Challenge

  1. Really pretty cards Andrea – love the mixing of old and new!
    xXx
    Andrea adds: Thanks Debbie! This was a fun challenge!

    Like

  2. Wow, what a stunning cards!!! I love how you embossed and with glitter, what a great effect!
    The other card is so sweet! I love the image!
    Greetings – Regina
    Andrea adds: It is a really pretty effect – embossing with glitter! I love it! But … then … I am a sucker for pretty bling!!! Hugs xxx

    Like

  3. WOW Andrea… all these cards are fabulous!! I’m LOVING the sparkles and embellies…. so soft and fresh looking! I’m hooked… 🙂 You amaze me with that border punch every time!! Hugs… Michelle 🙂
    Andrea adds: Your comment just came through Michelle … so I am imagining you sitting at your computer on the other side of the world … looking at my blog! What a thrill. Thanks for your support!!! 😀

    Like

  4. Wow. I love the beautiful Christmas tags, Andrea.
    They are adorable.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Julie! It was so nice to see you again … hope you are still enjoying your stamping!! xx

    Like