EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Sweeties Sketches – August Card Sketch

7 Comments

Sweetie's Aug09 Card Sketch

Hello everyone!

I have another challenge blog to share! Are you sick of them yet??? I just love finding new blogs with wonderful ideas … so I am really excited about these new sites … but perhaps you are over them??? I guess I just thought you would be as excited as me to find some new inspiration???  😉 This time … though … I can’t for the life of me remember how I got here??? I know it would have been via a friend’s blog … but which one???

So … click on the button above … to go to this site!

This site has a MONTHLY CARD SKETCH challenge … and a MONTHLY PHOTO LAYOUT SKETCH challenge … and I have to say from the browse that I had … I just love their photo layouts (not too fussy) and so I plan to visit for ideas for my portrait album! Here is the August card sketch … how adorable is this??? 🙂 Don’t forget to click on the sketch pic to see some wonderful samples for this sketch!

I thought I would do 2 samples again for this sketch … because I wanted to show you how to “think outside the square” (which is actually quite ironic for this sketch … because there are lotsa squares!!! 😀 😀 ROFL!!!) It is easy to use the same sketch to come up with totally different results.

Here is the first …

Sweeties' Aug09 Card Sketch 1

This creation started with the Basic Grey “Walk in the Park” DSP from the new Spring Mini Catty. I went browsing for colour combos to use with Basic Grey (I wanted something different to what I had seen before) and found this combo! I actually quite liked the result … but felt it was a little dull when I finished. BUT … I decided to add some “bling” (Dazzling Diamonds) … and I couldn’t believe how much it lifted the colours in the card! I hope you can see the effect in the pic??? It really did make a HUGE difference! The colours are actually very pretty together!

Card Recipe:

  • Sweeties' Aug09 Card Sketch 1 zStamp Sets: Priceless
  • Inks: Kiwi Kiss, Basic Grey, Pale Plum, Perfect Plum
  • Cardstock & Papers:
    • Pale Plum – A5 (21 x 14.8cm)
    • Walk in the Park DSP (Basic Grey) – 10 x 14.3cm + (Reverse side – Kiwi Kiss) punch 4 squares
    • Whisper White – 8 x 22.5cm + Scraps for stamping 4 images
    • Perfect Plum – punch 4 squares
  • Accents: Perfect Plum grosgrain ribbon, Kiwi Kiss satin ribbon, Dazzling Diamonds
  • Tools: 2-way glue pen (for Dazz Diam), 1 1/4″ circle punch, 1 1/4″ square punch, 1 3/8″ square punch

My second card is a surprise birthday card for a very special friend … but I’m not telling … cos it is still on it’s way in the mail! I soooo hope I haven’t spoilt the surprise!!!??? I am such a BIG MOUTH!!! 😀

Sweeties' Aug09 Card Sketch 2

And … isn’t this one sooooo different to the first … but both are designed around the same sketch! This is so fresh and funky!!! I used some pre- my time with SU! ginormous rhinestones in the centre of the flowers … just to add a bit more FUNK!!!

Card Recipe:

  • Sweeties' Aug09 Card Sketch 2 zStamp Sets: Petal Pizzazz, Cheer & Wishes
  • Inks: Only Orange, Green Galore
  • Cardstock & Papers:
    • Apricot Appeal – A5 (21 x 14.8cm)
    • Only Orange – 10.1 x 14.5cm
    • Apricot Appeal Patterns DSP (hostess level 1 reward) – 9.8 x 14.2cm
    • Whisper White – scraps for stamping flowers & leaves
  • Accents: Giant Rhinestones (non SU!), Apricot Appeal grosgrain ribbon
  • Tools: Paper Snips for cutting around images

This is a really simple card … just some layering and cutting! Isn’t the Petal Pizzazz flower just perfect!!!

Hope you have a great weekend!!! We are off to the NSW Supreme Court (in Sydney) with Stacey today! She is to swear an oath and become a “fair dinkum” solicitor!!! Yay! for Stace!!! We are so proud!!! So … seeing we need to leave home at 6am … I will leave this to arrive automatically because I wanted to give you some inspiration for the  weekend!!! Happy Stamping!!!

Images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2009. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock.

7 thoughts on “Sweeties Sketches – August Card Sketch

  1. Hi Andrea,
    I know you haven’t heard from me for a while, but I keep on checking out your blog, and you always have such fantastic ideas and creations. I think I will have to come down for your card buffet. Do you have a spare spot, or can I look over your shoulder? Would love to have gone in today for Stacey’s induction, but have work committments today – not good timing. I have loved playing with stamps from the new mini. I also got the train set, like you, am a bit short on male/kid orientated stamps. I like it, too.
    Love Julie
    Andrea adds: Hi Julie! You have been a stranger! We had a lovely time with Stace today … I knew she had mentioned it to you … what a shame you couldn’t get there! I had thought to invite you to my Christmas in July Stamp-a-stack … but Stace mentioned you were away up the coast … Saturday’s class is full … but you are welcome to come along if you like??? It would be lovely to see you! I will email you asap! Hugs xxx

    Like

  2. Love them both, fantastic work.
    Rach:)
    Andrea adds: Thanks Rach! It’s so lovely to have feedback! Hugs xxx

    Like

  3. Fabulous cards Andrea – I always think challenges are a great way to make us think differently and improve our skills – these showcase the sketch beautifully!
    xXx
    Andrea adds: I sooooo agree, Debbie. Sometimes I worry that I am “cheating” somehow … but the challenges do inspire me to try something different!!! I am just thankful that there are so many lovely stampers who are so wiiling to share their ideas! xx

    Like

  4. Andrea…you are a lifesaver…..only this AM I knew I had to do a b’day card for my hubby’s 12yo neice…and I thought aby squares/boxes….got to ur blog….and what do I find??? You have kinda done the card for me….LOL!! I’ll send u a pic of mine when done….got some sympathy ones to do 1st tho….but will finish on a high…..TFS so v v much.
    Andrea adds: I just love to help others out with ideas … so thanks for the feedback, Lynda! I would love to see your finished card!!! YW!!! 😀 xx

    Like

  5. A BIG Con’grats to Stacey!! WOW, what an honor and a mile stone in her life… I wish her the best! Now your cards are WONDERFUL! You sure are doing a great job with the challenges. Fun colors!! 🙂
    Andrea adds: Thanks for the best wishes for Stace … I will pass them on! And … I am REALLY enjoying doing some of the sketches!!! Lotsa fun!

    Like

  6. Hey everyone! I just thought I would let you know that Lynda has sent me a pic of her card that she CASED from one of these designs … if you would like to see it … then just click this link … Lynda’s Card
    I love to see your creations … so make sure you send me a pic!!!

    Like

  7. Wow…love how you used the SU Priceless set. I have not many sets but that is one of mine. Might just have to go off and create.
    Andrea adds: Hi Merry! This was actually created using Sweet Stems … but I am sure you could do something similar with the Priceless stamp set – it is one of my favourites! Thanks for taking the time to say hi!

    Like