EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Circle Circus Emerging Colour

2 Comments

Hello again!

I have a busy day today … the school newsletter was one of those really annoying ones!!! You know … you work on it … get it nearly finished … and 3 more items come in … so you reshuffle & reorganise … and get it to nearly finished … and 3 more items come in!!! (Most within the deadline for items.) Sometimes I wonder if I should actually start working on it closer to the deadline … and perhaps it would be quicker because I would have all the items before I start??? I don’t know … you try to be organised … but then it backfires!!! So much for being diligent … and NO BLOGGING or BLURFING (except for the thank you that I really needed to do for Tanya) … because I had the newsletter to do!!! Anyway, I have done all I can and am still waiting for info to come through for “booked” spots! So … while I wait … I thought I would share a quick card. Just a quickie!!! 😉 BTW … I saw this pig … and thought it was so adorable I had to share it with you!!! 😀

Male Circle Circus

I needed a male card recently and pulled my Circle Circus set out … for some reason I feel like this is definitely a male stamp set … but I am sure with some soft pastels you could TOTALLY convert this to a female version!!! Perhaps I need to try that sometime??? Anyway, the technique that I used on this card is called “Emerging Colour” … and here are the steps I used to create the main image panel of this card!

EMERGING COLOUR TECHNIQUE

  1. Male Circle Circus zStamp background images across the Very Vanilla card using Tangerine Tango ink
  2. Dust card piece with embossing buddy powder
  3. Stamp more “solid” type image on top of the background using Versamark ink
  4. Spinkle CLEAR embossing powder on top of stamped images
  5. Tap off excess embossing powder
  6. Set powder with Heat Tool (heat powder until it turns liquid & glossy – don’t overheat!!!)
  7. Use a brayer to cover card with dark (Chocolate Chip) ink. Keep working with brayer & ink until colour is deep enough to hide background (Tangerine Tango) images … or … depending on the effect you want … you can allow them to show through slightly. (like I have done here)
  8. Use a tissue to clean excess ink from the embossed areas

A really easy but SUPER impressive technique! And … for a male card … these colours work reallly well! I hope you have a lovely day … have to fly … Sheree needs my computer!!! 🙄

Card Recipe:

  • Stamp Sets: Circle Circus, Occasional Greetings
  • Inks: Chocolate Chip, Tangerine Tango, Versamark
  • Cardstock & Papers:
    • Chocolate Chip – A5 (14.8 x 21cm)
    • Tangerine Tango – 14.5 x 10.1cm + 12.3 x 5.9cm + 10.1 x 2cm
    • Very Vanilla – 12 x 5.6cm + 9.7 x 1.5cm
    • Chocolate Chip Patterns DSP –  14.1 x 9.7cm

  • Accents: Tangerine Tango Double striped grosgrain ribbon, Dew Drops
  • Tools: Brayer, Embossing Tools – Heat Tool, Powder Pals, Embossing Buddy

Images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2009. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock.

2 thoughts on “Circle Circus Emerging Colour

  1. Oh, this is cool! I love the technique, it’s great!
    Andrea adds: You will have to try it Regina!!! It is so easy but so effective. It looks great using Elegant Eggplant as a background with some pretty pinks & greens if you want some female colours!!!??? 😀 xx

    Like

  2. Love the pig, he’s gorgeous so pink!! also loved the tutorial I must give it a go when I have all the equipment.
    Cheers
    Andrea adds: Yes … do try it, Sylvia … you will be surprised how easy but how effective it is!!! xxx

    Like