EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Inkspirations Inspirations Challenge #11

6 Comments

Hi everyone!

I loved this challenge as soon as I saw it a few days ago … but just had to find time to sit down and try it. It is actually a bit of a “DOOZY” … not a lot of colour happening there … and I have looked around to see how others have interpreted it … and even the colours have varied a bit! Some have seen caramels & cocoas with white … others have seen greys & soft blues. I looked quite closely at the colours and decided (just in my opinion) that the background walls were actually a grey colour … and it was the lights shining from beneath the overhead cupboards that made it appear brownish??? Anyway … that is how I settled on my colours … Basic Grey & So Saffron … plus I certainly needed plenty of white!!! The design also need to be fairly clean and simple. So … here is the challenge pic …

You can click on the challenge pic … to see a list of entrants for this challenge … if you visit these blogs you will see lotsa lovely ideas and creations! It is a FAB challenge … thanks Keesh for the inspiration! 😀

Here is my “take” on it!!!

Inkspirations Inspiration #11

Now … I don’t know why for the life of me I glued the DSP to the card … BEFORE I stamped the images???? You can see a small gap created because of this!!! And … I had to stick some “post it” notes over the DSP so I didn’t stamp on the paper. Not the right way to go about it!!! I could have run some ribbon along the edge to cover the ‘MISTAKE’ … but I really wanted the “clean lines” … and I did want to put the ribbon through the phase & over the stamping! But … I still think the overall look of the card is quite nice!!! Here are the details …

Card Recipe:

  • Inkspirations Inspiration #11 zStamp Sets: Pocket Silhouettes, Short & Sweet
  • Inks: Basic Grey, Encore Silver Stamp Pads + Basic Grey marker for stitching
  • Cardstock & Papers:
    • Whisper White – A5 (14.8 x 21cm) + scrap for phrase
    • Walk in the Park DSP – 14.8 x 6cm (cut into 2 strips – 14.8 x 4cm & 14.8 x 2cm – flip 2nd over and stick to top of 1st so reverse pattern is showing)
    • So Saffron – scrap for oval
    • Metallic Silver – scrap for scallop oval

  • Accents: Basic Grey Corduroy Brads (Spring Mini), Very Vanilla grosgrain ribbon
  • Tools: Small Oval Punch, Large Oval Punch, Scallop Oval Punch

Afternoon Tea DSPI love this DSP … having the basic grey as a main colour throughout is really challenging me to try some different colour combinations … and generally I have been really pleased with the combos! I love trying new ideas & colours! That’s what I love about SU! … always changing … always new ideas & helpful inspiration! You can find these delicious papers in the New Spring Mini Catalogue … if you would like a copy … then email me and I will post one to you ASAP! (Colours in this DSP – Basic Grey, Kiwi Kiss, Cameo Coral, Baja Breeze, So Saffron)

Off to get my hair done this afternoon … then onto school to help out with the catering for the interschool conference our school is hosting today. I imagine it might be a long evening!!! 😉 Then … tomorrow is Sandy’s STATE athletics carnival (you can see in my post below how he went at the ZONE carnival). So … a two hour drive to Olympic Park in Sydney … but at least this year it is not just for a 16 sec race!!!! (Last year Sandy only went for the 100m!!!) This year he is going for long jump, shot put … then a 4 1/2 hr break until the 100m relay!!! Oh … what to do for the break??? Might just HAVE to go shopping at the DFO (direct factory outlets) which is just nearby??? ROFL!!! 😀 😉  So … anyway … I might not get here tomorrow because we are leaving at 6.15am … or it might not be until quite late …

Images copyright © Stampin’ Up! ® 1997—2009. Artwork by Andrea Lowcock.

6 thoughts on “Inkspirations Inspirations Challenge #11

  1. The stamp design is so delicate and beautiful to the paper – a dream of card
    Andrea adds: Hi Regina! You are always so kind and encouraging – thanks so much … will pop by your blog asap!!! Hugs xxx

    Like

  2. Andrea…I love it and I am sure Keesh will to. U have used one of my fave sets (Pocket Silouettes). Congrats on Sandy’s achievements…..U must be v v proud. BTW….did u score anything nice at DFO??? LOL!!! Have not been there is a while…but it’s a nice way to pass a couple of hours.
    Andrea adds: Yes … Pocket Silhouettes is a fav of mine too! Such a simple little set … but so easy to use! 😦 Didn’t score anything at DFO … except some lunch!!! We ended up with less time because I got talked into helping in the recording room … and didn’t get out of there until 12.30pm … so not much time to have a look around. Maybe next time??? Hugs xxx

    Like

  3. Sweet card, never mind about the lapse of thought process! Happens to everyone at some point I’m sure : ) I’m with you on the colour scheme-I saw grey, lotsa white & a little pale blue in the bowls on the bench & some yellow from the down lights. Good job!
    Andrea adds: Hi Elise … thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment! I love meeting new blog friends! I really meant to add a little soft blue … but ended up forgetting … but I am actually pleased with the two colour scheme! Thanks for your kind words about the “oooops”!!! 😀

    Like

  4. Wow, I just love your take on this sketch Andrea…this is such an awesome card. Your colours and the idea are just amazing. I love it!!

    Just wanted you to know I did get your wonderful email, but I just haven’t had the chance to respond as yet. I have had a very sick son, deadlines at work and a stamp camp to get ready for this weekend. So, as soon as I am back from that I hope to sit down and write you back. I love our cyber friendship 🙂

    You have a wonderful day, I hope the athletics carnival goes well and that you do get a bit of chance to shop.

    Talk soon
    Lee-Anne
    xox
    Andrea adds: Hey Lee-Anne! Hope you are enjoying your guest DT spot!!! 😀 And … please don’t apologise about not replying to the email … I know exactly what life can be like!!! This week has been incredibly busy … so I am sooo with you on that!!! Hope your son is improving … and that you can enjoy your stamp camp!! Yes … talk soon! Take care! xxx

    Like

  5. Love these colours together! I would have thought you left the little gap on purpose if you hadn’t have mentioned it! Beautiful card.
    Andrea adds: Hi Genelle! A new blog visitor … and a BIG smile on my face!!! 😀 Everyone has been so kind about my “goof”! Thanks for stopping by … I love meeting new blog friends. I just popped over to your blog and LOOOVE your challenge sample! Isn’t it funny we used the same set!? I will visit your blog again asap … when I have time for a better look around (have bookmarked it so I don’t forget!!! 😀 )

    Like

  6. The colour coordination is fantastic,and the Card factor got the Wow from me, never picked up the error till I read the post. Didn’t change my thoughts
    Cheers
    Andrea adds: LOL … perhaps I shouldn’t have been so honest … most people haven’t realised until they read my “babble”!!! so glad you like it, though!!! 😀 xx

    Like