EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Vintage Wallpaper

7 Comments

Hi girls!

I have been busy cooking today. I tried a new dessert … a brownie fudge flan! MMMMmmmm … can’t wait to taste it. Lisa asked if I was going to share the recipe … and good news … I found it online & have added the link! All our kids will be out tonight … the girls are off to youth group camp (back Sunday night) … Shane is working afternoon shift … and Sandy is at a sleep over at a friend’s place. So … Gav & I decided to take the opportunity to invite a couple of the older couples from church to dinner! I wanted to make it a little special for them … and it was kinda fun planning for this dinner party! 😀 I hope they enjoy it!

I thought I would share a card that I made at Leonie’s at a play day a few weeks ago. I don’t have this embossing folder … but I was keen to learn how to do the “emboss masking” that the girls had learnt at a team training that I wasn’t able to get to. So … you can see that I have embossed the front of this card … but there is an oval on the left side that isn’t embossed! Tricky … huh!!!??? 😉 😀

So … it is a little hard to describe this technique … but basically you need to cut an oval mask … but you need it to be quite thick. We used some cardboard from a cereal packet and folded it in half … then cut a half oval from the folded edge (giving a full oval hole when you open the cardboard up.) You might think that it is the cut out oval that you will use with the embossing folder … but it is actually the excess card with the half oval cut out … that is the part that you use. Layer your sandwich for the Big Shot – Cutting Plate / Embossing Folder (inside is card piece to emboss and folded oval card piece – with hole cut out – on top) / Cutting Plate. Run through Big Shot using Tab 1. Voila! The card is embossed everywhere except where the 1/2 oval hole was! I stamped the grasses image from the “Just Believe” stamp set … and then I have added some sponging and spritzing around the main card.

I haven’t tried this technique again since I did this card! But … I am eager to try an oval in the centre next time. I think it would just mean having a couple of layers of card with an oval cut from the centre … or a rectangle for that matter! HHHmmm … I think I have a Christmas Card coming on!!! Giggle! 😀

Hey … look at this lovely happy mail I got yesterday! Our ESAD-SU! is a lovely group of demos … and it is so nice to be able to share ideas and “RAKs” around. (Random Acts of Kindness.) This is another special thing about being a SU! demo! 😀 I received this gorgeous gift from the wonderful Shirley McAvoy. Well … off to beat the cream and finish the veges! C U soon! xxaxx

<

<

<

<

<

<

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

 

7 thoughts on “Vintage Wallpaper

  1. Chocolate fudge flan! Oh my, sounds yummy. Will you be sharing the recipe?

    Pretty card and fun RAK.

    Enjoy your dinner party.
    Andrea adds: LOL … I will try and find it online … so i don’t have to type it all up … Thanks Lisa! xxaxx
    Oooh … here it is … Brownie Fudge Flan

    Like

  2. Fudge sounds devine….but sadly off my list of foods (unless I am attached to an insulin drip and say what the heck!!! LOL!!!) Spooky thing happened…I recently purchased some rubber shims off e bay that do exactly THAT, cept these are rectangles…all over the shop…can’t wait to try them. LOVE the idea of the brekky boxes for circles/ovals tho…brain ticking!!!
    Oh yeah…better comment on the card huh??? This set works with everything doesn’t it?? LURVE the fancy schmansy ribbon too.
    What a clever little brown duck Shirley is…making the envelope fm BR DSP!!! The b’flies are beautiful. Always nice to get happy mail….esp fm v v clever people!!! ooxx
    Andrea adds: Giggle … yes … I am giggling AGAIN! And … Shirley IS very clever! I love the butterflies! Will your shims actually give you a blank rectangle when embossing … or … emboss just the rectangle and leave the edge blank??? Hugs xxaxx

    Like

    • They will give me a BLANK rectangle to stamp/print/do whatever on. Have cranked out a heap of Chrissy cards today (just have to mount them all now!!)…so still not played, but she has provided and instruction sheet too….so will let you know as soon as playtime lends results. ooxx
      Andrea adds: HHHmmm … will be waiting to see what you have to show us! Keep on stamping hunny! Hugs xxaxx

      Like

  3. BTW….just read the recipe……..heck of a way to fall off the wagon!!! Looks YUMMO!!!!! I miss sugar sometimes (insert heavy wistful far away sigh!!) 😉 ….then I console myself with the fact that it is MUCH better on someone else’s hips than mine….hee hee hee. ooxx
    Andrea adds: You wouldn’t like it … truly! 😉 Actually it is a little tooooo rich for my liking! I did enjoy it … but you can only have a small piece! 😀 And … you are soooo right! I DO NOT NEED this on my hips either! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  4. How pretty, Andrea!! I really love the ribbon treatment. And, the fudgie flan sounds fabulous!!
    Hugs –
    Kay
    Andrea adds: MMMMMmmmm … it was delicious … but a little piece goes a long way! It is VERY rich! Thanks for stopping by! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  5. LOVE the wrapped ribbon – and the rest of the card is pretty fab too!
    xXx
    Andrea adds: Thanks Debbie! Hopping by your blog soon! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  6. The first thing I noticed was the embossing! It’s great! And I have attempted to read your instructions… but it’s too late at night for me to concentrate, so I’ll come back to it later!

    TFS

    Cheers
    Sonia
    Andrea adds: Giggle … I just re-read the instructions … and I can’t even understand them … and I wrote them! 😀 It is hard to describe in words! Perhaps you need to try it … and you will see what I mean??? Hugs xxaxx

    Like