EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Quiet Afternoon!

19 Comments

Hi everyone!

How is your Saturday going? Mine has been absolute bliss! After a breakfast date with our good friends Dave & Tania at a lovely restaurant overlooking the ocean at Kiama … I am now “home alone” … with several hours to myself. The cricket is on the TV in the background and … YAYAYAYA Australia is 9 / 472! The girls are out at a youth group car rally … and the boys have gone with Gav to the Motorcross in Sydney. Neither will be home until well after tea. It is rather quiet here … but I am enjoying a little “me time”!  I am determined to get a few more Christmas cards done today … but first I wanted to play along with the Just Add Ink Challenge. This week is a sketch challenge … and the design team has posted some gorgeous samples! Click on the sketch to view these! Here is my entry …

I haven’t pulled out my FAV Vintage Vogue in a while … and it was so nice to play with it again. I honestly think that it is hard to do a BAD card with this set. It is one of those stamp sets that you just can’t go wrong with. I have used the “Rock N Roll” technique for the flowers … and (sorry) I forgot to add this to the “details” on my card recipe. But … I think most of you already know how to do this technique! For those who don’t: Ink up your stamp using the lighter colour ink … then roll the edges of the image “around” on the darker colour ink pad. Stamp. EASY! 😀 The bow is a “No Tie Brad Bow” and I used a Chocolate Chip Neutrals brad (flat top) and stuck a pearl on top with a mini glue dot … to go with the pearl accents on the flowers!

So … I need to do a bit of a clean up before I get into those Chrissy cards! But … I still have time to play some more! 😀 Happiness is … stamping!!! 😀 I am feeling a little lonely … but that is ok … I will cope! 😉 Perhaps I need a little blog love!!! I go away for a few days … and all my blog comments dry up!!! So … please stop for a moment … and say hi! It will feel like you are keeping me company! 😀 😉 Have a nice weekend, everyone! xxaxx


19 thoughts on “Quiet Afternoon!

  1. Hi Andrea!

    Sounds like you’re having a wonderul afternoon. I’ve had a busy day cleaning my MIL’s house and then came home to mow this monstrosity of a lawn after all the rain! It never ends does it! lol

    Just love your card you made. It’s a gorgeous colour combo and that rock-n-roll technique really adds something special!

    Thanks for leaving me a gorgeous comment on my blog too – really appreciate you stopping by and taking the time!

    Luv Karen
    x
    Andrea adds: YW Karen! I loved your cute little button card! And … I will be back to visit again … cos I sooo enjoyed scrolling back through your posts to see your other creations! How kind to spend time cleaning for your m-i-l! Put’s me to shame … I should help my mum more! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  2. Welcome home – this is a beautiful card. Nice combination of colours too.
    I have enjoyed reading what you’ve been up to this week – sounds like you had a fab time away!
    Looking forward to seeing the new mini-cat next week & more of your Christmas creations!
    Love Gabbi
    Andrea adds: Thanks so much for your constant encouragement! I am so thankful for my loyal blog groupies … who always take the time to say hi! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  3. Just lovely Andrea, very pretty
    Andrea adds: Thanks heaps, Melissa! I loved this sketch! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  4. Such a pretty card. Love the pink and brown together along with your background stamping and flowers.
    Andrea adds: Thanks for popping by! It’s so lovely to get the feedback! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  5. I TOTALLY agree with your sentiments on VV as a fab set. I have it out at the mo doing a slightly speccy project soon. I lovethe colours and how tou have just added that hint of espresso to contrast the CC and RR. I have the CC ink on my wishlist (along with a lotta other bits…LOL) It almost has a vintage-like feel to it. LOVE it.
    Enjoy the serenity darl….sadly we’ll not be watching the cricket today (Sun)…we are playing T-ball in a gala thing against the kids. Radox is at the ready. I do however have some cutting out and punching to take with me to keep me entertained between matches. ooxx
    Andrea adds: We so need a wicket at the moment … so you haven’t missed anything at all!!! 😉 Hope you blow the socks off the kids! Always good for the self esteem to beat the kids at something! 😉 I can’t believe you don’t have the CC stamp pad yet!!! At least buy the marker, girl! 😀 Looking forward to seeing your beautiful creations! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

    • Daaaaaaarrrrrrrrrllllllll….s’on the list….and I think I have wk’d out a way to do it before Chrissy too!!! To say I have ‘binged’ on ‘cake’ lately is an understatement. Having never used the colour before…I seem to be using it everywhere. I finished my set last night…and depending on the weather will take pics today. DEVOED that we took so few wickets y’day. Survived the games…with only a minor hiccup….FAB time had by all!!! All is OK…please don’t worry. ooxx
      Andrea adds: Yes! I am typing with a HUGE smile on my face. You have such a way with words! 😀 We still need some wickets!!! It is going to be a draw! And … I had such high hopes! Glad you survived your exercise adventure! Take care, hunny! Hugs xxaxx

      Like

  6. Hi Andrea
    Love your card, it inspired me to get that set out again.
    I thought I would use it heaps, but I have kind of forgotten about it.
    You’ve also inspired me to buy the scallop trim corner punch. I have only just bought the border one as I don’t have much luck with punches. Your punched border all the way around looks so good I think I need to invest in the corner too!
    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog.
    I love to get comments and don’t get them very often. I appreciate it.
    Andrea adds: Oh … thanks for sharing my enthusiasm, Kathy! I do hope you have someone to show you how to use the corner punch with the border punch. There is definitely a knack … that is hard to explain in words … to matching up the scallops. Sizing your cardstock properly is the first hint … then … You do need to punch the corners first … make sure you don’t push the card in too far … just enough so that the corner “meets” the punch edge and lines up squarely. Then … use the scallop markings on the top of the border punch to line up the already punched scallops. Don’t push card in as far as the ledge on the punch … or you will find it hard to match the scallops. Hope this is a help. I will pop this into an email for you … as well! 😀 I must try and do a picture tutorial for this as well, sometime! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  7. Gorgeous card Andrea! You are right..you cant go wrong with this set. I love your colour combo too its fab!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Delys! And … thanks so much for sending the technique details for the gorgeous embossing technique on your design team sample! I love it … and can’t wait to try it out! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  8. Looooove this, Andrea!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Denise! Always lovely to have you visit! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  9. WOW Andrea – you always use this set in such fabulous ways – and remind me to think about getting mine out – LOL. Sounds like you’ve had a fabulous weekend – I seem to have frittered mine away and achieved nothing better than a nana nap – LOL.
    xXx
    Andrea adds: It was kinda nice! 😀 And … I got a couple more Chrissy cards done! But … a nana nap still sounds like FABULOUS use of your time!!! Giggle! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  10. I thought I would pop back into blog world for a moment and of course I had to stop by and have a look at what is going on with Andrea. Seems like you are having a little quiet time. Always good sometimes. I love your vintage vogue card. You never can go wrong with this stamp set. Just gorgeous.

    Liam
    Andrea adds: How kind, Liam … that you popped by in your spare moment! Thanks for saying hi! And … yes … quiet time is always good! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  11. The story of my life… home alone time… Friday nights and lots of Saturday afternoons is a usual for me! So why don’t I get more stamping done!!! 😉 You’d think I’d be overflowing with posts on my blog from all of my creations!! Maybe next year! Maybe in a year or two when I give up work!! I am usually pooped on Friday nights and busy on Saturdays catching up! But that’s my choice so I have to live with it I guess! Though it’s not really my choice to be alone on Friday and Saturday nights – even if I have got used to it.
    Andrea adds: It did cross my mind to ring you … and get you to come over … but by the time I thought of it … I did have a headache & felt a bit “funny” in the tummy. So … I went to bed and watched the end of Stardust! Now I want to hire it and watch the whole thing! 😀 I can’t wait until you finish work! We will have so much fun stamping together! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

    • oops – ps …. love the card… I still have only done one card with my stamp set…. it’s my aim for the holidays to do plenty more!!
      Andrea adds: We should organise a “free stamping” day!!! That would be fun! Hugs xxaxx

      Like

      • Oh I love Stardust too… have seen the whole movie before but only got to see the last half this time!!… maybe we could do a stamping day in front of stardust in the holidays!!
        Andrea adds: Sounds like a plan! 😉 I think that would be a great idea. I really only saw about 20 mins of it! Hugs xxaxx

        Like

  12. Gorgeous card Andrea! So glad to hear that you and your daughters had an amazing time in Melbourne too.
    Andrea adds: Thanks for stopping by, Sandra! And … thanks for reading my marathon Melbourne post! It’s nice to know I don’t blether on for no reason! 😉 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  13. Andrea, this is really beautiful; I love your choice of colours.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Christine! Sometimes the picture in your head … actually WORKS when you try if for real!!! 😉 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  14. So pretty Andrea. I love that set and one of my fav technique is the rock and roll one. :o) Great color combo! :o)
    Andrea adds: Thanks Monika! Thanks for the lovely compliments! I love visiting your blog to see what you have been creating! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  15. Wow – this card must have been a winner, because it took me half an hour to scroll down past all the comments!

    Actually it is a winner – I love it!

    Cheers
    Sonia
    Andrea adds: Probably because I pathetically begged for comments in this post!!!!!!!! giggle 😉 But … it is lovely to get so much feedback! Thanks for adding to the number! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  16. Hi Andrea, love this set too and really LOVE your card!! I haven’t tried a bow like yours before, so will give it a try. Thanks for sharing!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Janine! I am really enjoying all the lovely comments and feedback on this card! Thanks for saying hi! Here is a quick “how to” for the NO TIE Brad Bow …
    No Tie Brad Bow Instructions

    Like