EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Birds, Bees, Flowers, Trees!

15 Comments

Hi bloggies!

Well … hasn’t it been another busy week!? But … somehow I did find time to do some stamping! Having a play date with Jenny & Leonie does help … even though we only managed to get 2 cards done!!! (Too much chatting and sharing … and not enough stamping! 😉 BUT … that is what stamping friends are all about … aren’t they??? 😀 ) It is my mum & dad’s 51st wedding anniversary this Saturday. It is going to be a little sad … because it is the first one they celebrate with Dad in the nursing home. (Dad still thinks this is only a temporary situation … even though we have talked and talked to him about this!!) So … mum, Christine & I are going to take some special morning tea down to make it a little special. This is one of the cards we made on Monday at Leonie’s and I actually made two identical cards … so I could post one to Mum & one to Dad so they could each enjoy it for their anniversary! 

I was so brain dead on Monday that I just quickly printed out a few card images from my “To CASE” file … and took them along as ideas. The inspiration for this card was from Laurie Zoellmer … I fell in love with this design as soon as I saw it!  Leonie & Jenny chose to do a polka dot embossed background (as shown in the original card) … but I decided to tweak the design a little and did a brayered background. I also felt like the moon needed a little pizzazz … and so I sponged some Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint onto the white circle … and although it doesn’t seem that pretty in the photo … it actually really added some gorgeous sparkle and zing to the moon. I also created a sponged label rather than the die cut letters that Laurie used. So … basically the design is Laurie’s … but this one has a little of “Andrea” in it too! 😉 All the “how to” details can be found on my card recipe at the bottom of the post! 

I thought I would enter this into the latest Paper Players Challenge … which is a themed challenge … “Birds, Bees, Flowers and Trees. What a fun challenge! And how fab that I made a card that fitted … without realising at the time! 😀 (Click challenge pic to visit challenge site.) 

So … I hope to have a play with Bree today. Mum & I are going shopping to buy a mini DVD player for Mum to give Dad for their anniversary … and I am hoping that Stace will be able to join us for lunch out! Fingers crossed! Hope you all have a lovely day! Hugs xxaxx  


15 thoughts on “Birds, Bees, Flowers, Trees!

  1. What a really sweet idea Andrea to send your parents matching cards…. especially under the circumstances.
    I really love this card and all the different elements that you have put into it!
    I really love the label with that beautiful sentiment.
    Have a really blessed day
    Amyxxxx
    Andrea adds: Yes … it is kinda sad that this is the first time they will be apart for their anniversary. I hope they manage to still have a happy day. Thanks for your encouragement. Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  2. absolutely love this card!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Jess! I like this one too! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  3. So cute, and very appropriate. Better the moon’s shimmer is amazing IRL. I do love the shimmer paints. I’m keen to try the Mother of Pearl technique.

    Am so sad at the thought of Convention without you, won’t be the same without playing ‘try & find Andrea’ this year. still think its funny that I was too shy to say hi at the Regionals the first time I went 😉
    Fi x
    Andrea adds: I am very sad at the thought of not seeing you, too, Fi! I was so thrilled that you (finally) plucked up the courage to say hi! And … I’m so glad our friendship has grown since then and we have shared many special moments! 6 of our demos from Ness’ team are going to have a “Claytons Convention” at Leonie’s while the Melbourne Convention is happening. We are going to do some M&T’s and have our own awards night … and have a sleepover. Should be a hoot … and a lot less expensive. Hugs xxaxx
    PS Mother of Pearl technique???? Hhhmmm haven’t seen that one … you’ll have to show us on your blog!

    Like

  4. Very, very cute!!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Bronwyn! So nice to see you! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  5. Love this card – it is SO CUTE! I love everything about it!!! The sentiment is especially fitting!!
    I do hope you have a lovely day celebrating with your parents on Saturday – it is always worth celebrating, even when the circumstances are trying! 51 years is a triumph – what a blessing!!
    I do hope things are becoming easier with your mum and dad – I know it has been a difficult time!
    I bet baby Bree has changed already since being born – although she was a tiny bub to start with! Babies are amazing – I could watch one for hours.
    Love Gabbi xo
    Andrea adds: I just said this afternoon when Stacey was leaving … “what did we have to amuse us before we had Bree?” I just don’t know how Stace gets anything done at home! I could just watch her for hours … too! She has the most fascinating little face. 🙂 We made some baby thank you’s today … a lovely nice day with my girls! (After the hour at school for Sandy’s Student Council induction this morning!) Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  6. Thanks for the inspiration Andrea. I loved your card – AND it really is more lovely IRL1 I was just going to post my card tonight too if I get a chance.

    Enjoy the time with your Mum and Dad on Saturday,
    Love Jenny xxxooo
    Andrea adds: Hi Jenny! Thanks for popping by. I always appreciate your quiet encouragement! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  7. Andrea…my heart strings were tugged so v v hard when I read of your idea to send a card to ur adad and Mum seperately. Times like this that is so special between people and they are apart (insert sound of snapping heartstring!!) They definitely got the mould right with you tho darl’n. I am sure both your parents know what a treasured soul you are!!
    I love your background so much better than Laurie’s (sorry Laurie) and I bet the moon really does shine proudly too. {Sniff} off to find a Kleenex now. Luv ya heaps. ooxx
    Andrea adds: You have no idea, Lynda my friend … how much I needed a smile this afternoon. Thanks so much for giving it to me! 🙂 I had a lovely day with Stacey … but … sometimes other things crowd out the happiness! My heart is sad every time I go to visit Dad. I feel guilty that he is there … and that mum seems quite settled about this. I know I should be thankful that she is comfortable with her decision … because I would be dealing with her as well … otherwise … but somehow I just feel sad about the situation. But … tomorrow I hope we can have a happy morning … show him his new DVD player … and play some “Rummy-O” & Dominoes … and help some of the time pass. Thank you for sharing my sadness … only TRUE friends are able to do that … and I am amazed every day … that even though we have never met … we share such kindred spirits! 😀 Thanks for the blog love … and passing a big hug back to you! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  8. Pingback: SILHOUETTE OWLS! « A Stamping Journey

  9. Adorable! The owl punch is my absolute favorite tool and I love how you used it for your card. Thanks for playing along with The Paper Players this week.
    Andrea adds: Hello Rita! It was a fun challenge … and having only just purchased the owl punch … I am still learning ways to use it! 😀 Thanks for popping by! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  10. Andrea, this is so cute. hope things are going well with Bree and her mum. Cheers, Kasey
    Andrea adds: Both Bree & Stace are going really well. Stace is still pretty tired … but she is just revelling in her new role. Bree is adorable and such a good girl! Thanks for popping by! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  11. Thankyou for making me the recipient of your lovely card with the butterflies on it (further down in your post). What a lovely surprise in the post. This card looks lovely, Andrea. When are we getting together for a play day. Julie
    Andrea adds: Ooooh! You should have come today … Julie! Stace & I made some baby thank you’s and another pair of hands would have been really helpful. I will have to do a few more … sometime … for her. Just give me a couple of weeks to catch up … I need to be at the nursing home a bit at the moment … and then we definitely will organise a play day! I’m glad you liked the card! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  12. Sweet card, Andrea! I love it–two love owls! Thanks for playing with the Paper Players this week!
    Andrea adds: Hi LeAnne! Thanks for visiting and for your lovely encouragement! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  13. This is lovely Andrea. The brayered background is wonderful & I can just imagine the shimmery moon! It’s so sweet that you created one for both your Mum & Dad to enjoy. Congratulations to your parents on their anniversary. 🙂
    Andrea adds: I am hoping it will be a special celebration … even if they are no longer living in the same home. Bittersweet … I am sure! Thanks for the lovely comments! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  14. I love the silhouette look on this card. You just have the most wonderful knack with colours!

    Cheers
    Sonia
    Andrea adds: Thanks Sonia! It was such a fun card to make … and m&d loved it when they opened it today! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  15. Thanks you so much for the recipe!!! I love how you made this card your own. Love it!
    Andrea adds: I am always amazed how people arrive on my blog! Welcome Abi! You are looking at a post I did several months ago … so I wonder what it was that lead you here! Thanks for the feedback … It is nice to know that the recipes are useful! Hugs xxx

    Like