EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Paper Players #59

14 Comments

Hi bloggies!

Do you remember that I mentioned the other day how hard it is sometimes to translate a “fabulous idea” from your head … onto a card? Paula said she could totally relate. Well … this is another one of “those cards”!!! I “thought” this was going to be inspirational … and know that I look at it … I am really not that convinced!!! 😦 But … I really did want to pop a post here today … so … here it is …

So … my “idea” was to start with the darkest colour ink on the left and fade across the card to the lightest colour ink on the right. Hhhmmm … good in theory!!! 😉 I stamped and spritzed using Rose Red on the left … Regal Rose in the centre … and Pretty in Pink on the right. But … the card looked a little bare … so I went back and added some tiny PiP butterflies in between. Somehow the “fading effect” didn’t really work the way I anticipated!!! 😀 Oh well … back to the drawing board! 😉  Click challenge picture to visit the Paper Players Challenge Blog. If you would like to see the details better … click photo to view an enlargement. (You kinda need to do that for this card!!! 😉 )

I wanted to take a moment to say thank you to the PP girls (and particularly Carrie) for a lovely “nod” for last week’s challenge. I was totally shocked … because my card had been “thrown together” during a break from caring for mum. But … it was such a lovely surprise to pop by the PP blog this morning … and find that I was Carrie’s choice this week! Yayaya! Thanks so much for the very special encouargement this was to me! 😀

Well … I am enjoying my last day of “freedom”!!! My sister returns to Toowoomba tonight … and so our live in nurse is disappearing!!! We have decided until mum is feeling more “herself” … I will do day shifts … and my twin sis will do the nights. (She has a full time job … so this is the best plan for sharing!) The day shifts will be busier, I’m sure … but at least I get to sleep in my own bed! 😀 So … I don’t think either of us has drawn the “short straw” … it is just the best way to organise it. Anyway … I will be back at mum’s during the day for the next … hhhmmm … I don’t really know how long. So … if the posting and card making isn’t happening … I know  you will understand! 😀 Please hang in here with me … I will be back as soon and as often as possible. 

14 thoughts on “Paper Players #59

  1. (Breathe in….and out….) OKKKKKKKK…barring the obvious…I think this card works really well Andrea (wink). The eveness of the ribbon is PERFECT (insert jealous drool) and again…b’flies…where you can’t really go wrong!! Congrats on the “nod” too. Ever the high achiever…even when not intending to do so!!
    I am glad that u and Chrissy are splitting the shfts. Yes the days will be tough…but nights can be v v long too. E mail is always open to vent and rant….24/7. Take care of you…luv n hugs to all. ooxx
    Andrea adds: Wow! That was quick … I only just posted this card … and here you are! Thanks for your offer … might need to take you up on that!!! (giggle!) 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  2. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that ribbon – Again the ribbon whisperer has come out of her shell.
    Does this make comment #23 for the day….. I see your lovely bling on the left hand side…. it will just bring to everyone’s attention how slack I have been.
    I understand that fading effect… maybe double stamping might have worked…. maybe not though! When you’ve mastered it let us know.
    Either way your card is great.
    Congrats on your school days card… just lovely!
    Cheers
    Sonia
    Andrea adds: Hi Sonia! Yes! I should add that to the number!!! 😀 You are a sweetie to take so much time to leave so much blog love! (I really didn’t mean to make you feel slack!!) I had forgotten all about the “ribbon whisperer” … trust you to remember! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  3. Lovely card, Andrea! You can’t go wrong with pink, butterflies, sparkles and ruffled ribbon! thanks for playing along with the Paper Players this week! And congratulations on your Cut Above last week. Very weel deserved! 🙂
    Andrea adds: Hi Sandra! Thanks for the congrats! I was thrilled! And … although this card is “growing on me” … I am working on another!!! 😉 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  4. Hey Andrea I really love your card with the colours and butterflies. That card will be going into my case file for later.
    I have been praying for your Mum to get better soon. I’m still praying for you to have strength for caring for your Mum. I hope your shift work with your sister goes well. That will make life a bit easier for all of you.
    Thanks for sharing Take care Ingrid
    Andrea adds: Life is going to get busier before it gets easier, I fear. Not being at home each day means that things will start to slide a little. But … my kids & hubby are so wonderful with picking up the slack … I’m sure we will manage! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  5. You did a great job! We all tend to criticize our cards but I think you did a great job executing your vision!! and congrats on your cut above pick! Thanks for playing with the Paper Players again this week!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Lauri! It was a lovely colour combo. So nice … that I am working on another!!! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  6. It may not have turned out as you intended Andrea – it is stll turned out beautifully!! I love your ribbon treatment. You are so very clever. When taking care of your Mum, don’t forget to care for yourself too!! ♥
    Andrea adds: Thanks for the good advice. I feel like while I am here posting and replying to comments I am caring for myself! 😉 I love spending time with my blog friends! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  7. Too cool ribbon idea. it went well with the card.
    Andrea adds: I’m not sure where the idea came from (as in … my brain is far too tired!) … but it did work well! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  8. That ribbon is yummy. I really love how you worked that into your design. Thanks for playing along at The Paper Players this week.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Carrie! You are a sweetie! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  9. I love what you have done with the ribbon here – I haven’t seen that before – it is so cool! Is it as hard as it looks??
    Running two houses is going to be tough for you – praying for strength to keep up with it all!
    Thanks for sharing,
    ♥ Gabbi ♥
    Andrea adds: No … not hard, Gabbi … you just can’t rush it … because it is easy to get uneven zig zags! But … you can just pull it off the sticky strip and rework it if it is uneven. Thanks for your prayers! (Again!!!) Much appreciated! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  10. HI Andrea! I love the fun mix of butterfly stamps you used! And that ribbon treatment is absolutely gorgeous!! Love it! So glad you played along with my color challenge this week at the Paper Players! 🙂 Take care as you get adjusted to your new schedule.
    Andrea adds: Hi Anne Marie! I am glad that you liked this one. It was fun & a lovely colour combo … especially for those of us who love pink! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  11. Hi Andrea,
    I’ll be here when you get back…my thought are with you, your sister and your mom! Your card is really pretty, that ribbon treatment is cool. Love how you thought outside of the box with this one.
    Thanks for joining us at the Paper Players.
    Smiles,
    Lesley
    Andrea adds: Thanks for the sweet message, Lesley. There are lots of friends who have stopped by to leave some special thoughts & prayers. And … thanks for your encouragement with my card! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  12. Andrea,
    so glad you joined the Paper Players again this week – especially in the midst of your busy schedule – and we are so glad you did. I love your pink butterflies and your ribbon treatment.
    We look forward to you joining us in challenges when your schedule allows and like Lesley, my thoughts are with you all.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Jaydee … it was such a pretty colour combo! Lotsa fun! Thanks too … for your lovely thoughts! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  13. Beautiful, Andrea! I LOVE the ribbon treatment! I will be keeping you and your family in my thoughts. Thanks for playing with The Paper Players again this week.
    Andrea adds: Thanks for your lovely thoughts, Ann! It is such a nice thing to know my blog friends are so caring in this way! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  14. That ribbon design is brilliant! I am so stealing that idea from you! LOL!
    Andrea adds: So happy to inspire … feel free to use this idea!!! Hugs xxaxx

    Like