EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Sunny Fun

17 Comments

Hi there bloggies! 😀

Well … sometimes being stuck at home without a car means I just HAVE TO stamp!!! What a shame!!! 😉 😀 I have another non Chrissy Card for you all today! I have been wanting to try a new technique that I have seen on several blogs and this seemed to fit beautifully with the Paper Players #69 sketch today! With spring randomly giving us some warm days (and some NOT SO WARM) I felt like using some bright colours … & I wanted to ink up my new “Sunny Fun” stamp set. Here is what I came up with …

I am such a sucker for anything gingham … and as soon as I saw this background technique around I just knew I had to get the new Stripes embossing folder and try it out for myself. I can just imagine how sweet this would be for baby cards! The technique is basically just done by brayering ink on the inside of the embossing folder … running it through the Big Shot … inking again … turn the card 90° … and run through the BS again. (You will need to ink again & run in the same direction to add lines for the extra length in this direction.) The whisper white is a little “soft” for repeat Big Shot runs … so I would suggest you run a scrap piece of card behind it each time to prevent the creases from happening! (I will try that next time!) 😀 I wonder … now that I come to post this … if it is a little ‘busy’ … but it is bright and sunny, isn’t it!?

Well … I checked out the DT samples & the gorgeous submissions for this challenge and realise this is nothing like the elegant creations that I saw there! But … I guess I might enter it anyway! 😀 After all … it is the fun of creating … that is important … isn’t it!?

I have had so little time for challenges lately … but with a free day … I thought I would pop by the CAS-ual Fridays Blog … to play along with their latest challenge … and I realised that this card would fit! 😀  (BUT … I am always nervous about the “CAS” part. I never seem to get that balance right???) But … I thought I would have another go! CFC25:  Use any medium (markers, pencils, watercolors, blending pens, etc) to add color to your stamped image.

See you all again soon! Hugs xx

17 thoughts on “Sunny Fun

  1. What an adorable card! I LOVE the gingham paper which you created! WOW! Of course, the bling is the perfect touch! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!
    – What a great sketch, Ann! It was fun to play along! I have missed playing at the Paper Players … so it was great to finally find the time. Hugs xx

    Like

  2. I love your bright version of this sketch. Beautifully and cheerfully done! Your accent pieces compliment the overall look to perfection! Thanks for joining use at The Paper Players this week!
    – Hi Cindy! Thanks for your lovely comment! Cheerful is a great word for this one! Hugs xx

    Like

  3. Bold, bright and so brash Miss Andrea. LURVE the gingham look too cute!!! The wee bouquet flowers are so PURDY!!! Definitely a bright spot in a gloomy day.
    Thanks so mych for ur luvin’ txt today. V V emotional but Kath and the gals were brilliant. ooxx
    – So glad you managed to cope with such a sad occasion. I am sure you will continue to be a wonderful support and encouragement to Kath & the girls. Hugs xx

    Like

  4. Hey Andrea,
    That card looks sooo pretty. The colours looks really nice together.
    Thanks for sharing
    Ingrid
    – Thanks Ingrid … it is always nice to have you visit. Thanks for the encouragement. Hugs xx
    PS: Sorry it is my pic showing. For some reason this comment was saved to the wrong post … so I had to move it. I’m not sure how to change the profile pic back to you! 😀

    Like

  5. Oh what a bright and happy card this is Andrea – bring on summer!!!
    – Yes! Bring on summer! Is it ever going to warm up this year??? Hugs xx
    PS: Sorry it is my pic showing. For some reason this comment was saved to the wrong post … so I had to move it. I’m not sure how to change the profile pic back to you! 😀

    Like

  6. I think it is perfectly “busy”! Everything works together so well to create this cheerful card! I’m looking out my window at cold blowing snow so your card gave me a big smile!
    – Hi Kim! “Perfectly busy” … thanks for putting such a positive spin on it! Isn’t it a little early for cold blowing snow??? Hugs xx

    Like

  7. Great, fun, uplifting card! Just what I needed as we are entering into the Fall season 🙂 TFS!
    (((Hugs)))
    – You can’t help but smile at this one … it is a happy card! Hugs xx

    Like

  8. Good morning Andrea. Thanks for all the return comments – I had a lovely visit but I’ll try & keep up now, hehe.
    This card is fabulous – bright, cheery & lots of fun. A little burst of sunshine for the recipient. Love your gingham bg – that folder was the 1st item on my wishlist with the new catty – love it! 🙂
    – Funny … but just as you catch up … I get further behind! Hope to catch up some tomorrow! Hugs xx

    Like

  9. Oh this is one of my favorite techniques! Good tip for embossing the longer pieces….I just always did a square! Fun cheerful card! Thanks for playing with the Paper Players this week!
    – Thanks LeAnne! Glad to pass on a tip to an expert!!! I love the Paper Players challenges. I just wish I could find the time to play each week! Hugs xx

    Like

  10. Love this Andrea! The handmade gingham paper is the perfect summertime match to those flip flops and speaking of flip, I love how you turned the sketch! Very clever! It’s bright, happy and oh-so-perfect! Great job! Thank you for playing along with my sketch at The Paper Players!
    – It was such a fun sketch, Nance! I enjoyed playing this week! Thanks for the lovely comment! Hugs xx

    Like

  11. Andrea, I hadn’t seen this technique before – but it’s fabulous and, yes, it would be amazing for baby cards. I love your take on the sketch. Summer… oh boy… we are getting ready for winter. 🙂
    so glad you joined the Paper Players this week
    Jaydee
    – Hi Jaydee! What lovely comments I have had from the girls at the Paper Players. It is so nice to have such wonderful encouragement. Thanks heaps! 😀 Hugs xx

    Like

  12. Very cool technique and I love the bright colours – it just screams summer picnic!
    – Summer Picnic — what a perfect description! Hugs xx

    Like

  13. Lovely and bright and very cheery.
    – Thanks Melissa! It does make you smile when you look at this one … doesn’t it! Hugs xx

    Like

  14. Hi Andrea,
    What a bright and cheerful card! I love the way you flipped the sketch too! Awesome. Thanks for joining us at the Paper Players!
    Smiles,
    Lesley
    – Flipping the sketch was a result of wanting to use that fun stamp! I think it worked well … so thanks for confirmation! 😀 Hugs xx

    Like

  15. Andrea what a fun way to flip the sketch! Love those happy, sunny colors, too. The gingham background is the perfect touch, too. Very pretty! Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players! 🙂 Hugs to you!
    – Your bright happy comment brought a smile to my face, Anne Marie! Thanks for your sweet encouragement! Hugs xx

    Like

  16. What a great take on the sketch and I LOVE the gingham background you created. Thank you so much for sharing…I am definitely going to try this. The colors are so fun and fabulous! Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players!
    – Isn’t it a great look! I am such a sucker for gingham! Love the fun of the stamp set too! Thanks for a lovely comment! Hugs xx

    Like

  17. The colours in this are indeed summery! – love that home-made gingham!! – bring on summer!
    -Gabbi
    – Bring on summer … for sure! I actually went in the pool 1 day last week … but blinked and the warm weather was gone again! Hopefully soon. Hugs xx

    Like