EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

It didn’t rain! Yee haa!

6 Comments

Hi bloggies!

Over the last few years … actually the last 10 years … we have planned several outdoor beach parties for special occasions … and EVERY time it has rained. Most of these special occasions have ended up at our place last minute! Today we celebrated Gav’s (dh) 50th birthday … and planned another beach BBQ brekky. After having rain pretty much all week … I was hoping and praying that it would be fine! And … although there were a few dark clouds around … we managed to have a NON WET party!!! Yes … it DIDN’T RAIN!!! 😀 I was so happy!

We had 30 family sharing in the celebrations … and it was such a lovely morning … doing all the things Gav loves to do. Touch footy … cricket … cards … and yummy BBQ rolls for Brekky! Banana cake with NO ICING (Gav LOVES banana cake but hates icing) … but we forgot to take the matches … so it was a pretend “blow” of the candles!

I wanted to show you the fabulous job Christine (my sis) did on Gav’s card. Not only did she make a gorgeous birthday card … but she made a lovely gift voucher holder as well. My two sisters and their families, my mum & my niece & her hubby all put together for a voucher from the surf shop … for Gav to buy a “steamer”! For the non surfers … that is a long sleeve / long leg wetsuit! He was tickled. 😀 The other side of the family bought him a compressor and accessories (boring! … although Gav loved it!) He has been asking for years for a compressor … but I keep telling him that when he uses the welder he has in the shed (that he bought from a farm auction) … then I will think about getting him a compressor!!! 😉 So … now he has another TOY … to NOT use! He insists that it will be VERY HANDY!!! 🙄

Well … it is Saturday afternoon and after cleaning up party stuff … the family have now gone off to the Golf Range to hit some balls! I plan to do some Christmas Cards … cos I really have to get them done! Gav actually turns 50 on Tues (13th) … so I will show you my b’day card for him … once I have given it to him! Have a nice weekend! Hugs xx

6 thoughts on “It didn’t rain! Yee haa!

  1. So glad you enjoyed fine weather this morning!!
    I had been thinking about you preparing for the big party – very glad that you had fine weather & could enjoy the rest of the day.
    Hope you have a lovely Sunday.
    -Gabbi ♥
    – Thanks Gabbi! It really was a lovely day! I am glad he enjoyed it! We are off to dinner tonight (13th) to celebrate with just our kids. Gav is looking forward to a nice steak! Hugs xx

    Like

  2. I am so v v happy that it did not rain for a major Lowcock party darl!!! Woo Hoo!!! I so love Chrissy’s card.I love the way that the dry embossing on urs looks like swirls of wind filling the sails!!! So unusual she chose blue…hee hee hee. Brilliant that he got what he wanted. I think every man has that speccy thing in his shed….I know mine does…hee hee hee. Take care of you. ooxx
    – It was such a bonus … no rain. It was nice to get out of the house … catch up with family … and relax for a little while! I’m sure Christine enjoyed making this for Gav. She hasn’t had much time for stamping lately! Hugs xx

    Like

  3. So happy that all turned out well for Dh’s 50th!! Sounds like it was a wonderful celebration for him. Hope you get as many cards done as possible while you have the chance! Can see the talent runs in your family – your sister’s creations were wonderful. Haven’t used that shell set for ages!!! What a great prompt!

    Vi
    – Gav really enjoyed the time celebrating. It was lovely. I don’t have that set … but always admire what my sis does with it! Hugs xx

    Like

  4. So glad that you had such a nice day for Gav’s party. He was well spoilt too. Love the voucher holder, your sister did a great job,
    Fi x
    – He was very spoilt! I gave him money to buy a surfboard!!!! Do you think it is too old to start surfing at 50??? Hugs xx

    Like

  5. Glad you had a great party without rain! Happy birthday to Gav. Neat cards. Love the images… the gift card holder is such a neat idea. Lvoe the belly band.
    – It is so nice to have all these lovely birthday wishes for Gav! Thanks, Monika! Hugs xx

    Like

  6. Yay on having perfect weather for Gav’s beach brekky celebrations! Sounds fun! Christine’s card & especially the gift card holder are gorgeous. Love the beachy theme. Hugs 🙂
    Yes … it was so nice of her to go to so much trouble. At least I have a hubby that appreciates the effort of card makers!!! 😉 Hugs xx

    Like