EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

Colour Blocking

13 Comments

Added Tues 28th Feb:  I am so excited to be chosen as an Artist Top Pick over at HSS for this card. I just love being able to add a winner badge to my blog post. 😀 It is such a thrill. Thanks to all the girls at Hand Stamped Sentiments for their lovely encouragement! 😀

Hi there bloggies!

Isn’t it a beautiful day! Well … it is here in our little part of the world. Yes … it is the last week of summer & finally summer has arrived! Not HOT HOT HOT … but it is going to be quite warm … and I plan to have a swim in our very neglected pool today! 🙂 We have a busy weekend … including an early b’day family lunch (tomorrow) for moi … before Gav’s sister & hubby return to Vanuatu next week. It is nice that they wanted to celebrate my milestone with me! 🙂 I have another wedding to ‘take a peek’ at this arvo … and dinner tonight with friends! Gav has to spray the blackberries. (Noxious weeds dept require it … and while the weather is sunshiny … it is a good time to do it!) Anyway … enough rabbiting … here is yesterday’s card … (Yes I didn’t get here to post it … so I am thinking I might do 2 posts today! 😉 )

This card was created for the latest Hand Stamped Sentiments challenge. My first inclination was to do the ‘ink to stamp block’ technique … but after reading the details of the challenge I thought I might do something a little different! I punched some vellum squares and then coloured them with markers. Now … I am sure that you are wondering … why didn’t I just stamp the backgrounds using a flat (no image) stamp??? But … I did want the scalloped look … and the coloured vellum does have a nice texture to it! Click on pic below to visit challenge site!

It was so nice to make a pretty card! I have had so many male b’day cards to make lately (I still have another one to go!) … that this was a breath of fresh air! 🙂 I love the colour combo … and the richness of the ink on the vellum! I need to clean up my stamp/work desk … so I better keep moving! Thanks for all you lovely comments that are waiting for me … I will go and reply to those before the spring clean! 😀 (Priorities!) Have a lovely weekend, everyone! Hugs xxx

13 thoughts on “Colour Blocking

  1. Def vibrant Miss Andrea. Love the teeter-totering cupcakes!!! I think you have met the challenge VERY well indeed. Tangerine and Mambo are 2 colours the don’t get much (if any) a run at my place….s’nice to know their discrimination isn’t wider….hee hee hee. Good luck dealing with the blackberry. We’re off to baseball in the SUN!!! woo hoo!! ooxx
    Andrea adds: Sounds like a nice morning, Lynda! Hope you are winners!!! I am not a huge TT fan … but it is lovely with some colours! Hugs xxx

    Like

  2. I LOVE your card!!! Just adorable!!! The Cupcake is perfect with the color blocking!!! Great job!! Thank you for participating with HSS this week!!! Amy L.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Amy for your enthusiastic response. It is so nice to have your encouragement! Hugs xxx

    Like

  3. A fab card Andrea, the colours are quite vibrant, and the cupcakes are too cute. hmm my birthday is next week also so it makes you a Pisces 🙂 So a very happy birthday to you, I hope you get spoiled, enjoy your special lunch with your family, its good to have them all together 🙂 Hugs Melxxx
    Andrea adds: Oooh … really Mel??? Which day??? I hope you have a lot of wonderful surprises! Hugs xxx

    Like

  4. how very fun that you colored onto the vellum, love the scalloped edge and your sweet little cupcakes look like they are having a party all on their own! The glittered paper frosted tops are sweet. Thanks for playing along this week at Hand Stamped Sentiments!
    Andrea adds: Hi Dawn! What a sweet & fun comment … thanks so much! Hugs xxx

    Like

  5. Wow! What a breath of sunshine! Beautiful, happy, card. In my part of the world it is winter and everything is dreary. No flowers, no leaves, drab, drab, drab. But it has been a mild winter where I am here in the States, so no complaining. Your card is sooooo cheerful, and gives me hope for the spring that I just know is around the corner. And those cupcakes look good enough to eat. Yum! Thanks for the tute on color blocking.
    Hi Sandy! We are bemoaning a miserable summer … it has also been very mild! Too mild! Not many sunny beach days! Thanks for your sunny comments, though! Hugs xxx

    Like

  6. Beautiful card – I love cupcakes!
    Am I detecting that you are about to celebrate a “BIG” birthday?
    Have a great weekend.
    -Gabbi
    Andrea adds: Yes … I can’t deny it any longer! Not happy about it … but we can’t make life stand still. I guess I need to embrace it a bit more graciously! Hugs xxx

    Like

  7. Love the effect you have created with the scalloped, vellum mats Andrea – the colour is really rich! Great layout too. Hope you are having a wonderful weekend. Hugs 🙂
    Andrea adds: Hi Helen! I did have a nice weekend! Thanks Helen! Must pop by and say hi to you! Hugs xxx

    Like

  8. I love the glittery cakes Andrea and your coloured vellum – that’s something I must try! Happy birthday to you – enjoy the rest of your weekend! Vicky x
    Andrea adds: B’day celebrations are a week+ early … but thanks for the lovely b’day message! Big hugs xxx

    Like

  9. Cool way to use this technique….coloring on the vellum square makes it look like frosting, too. YUM! 🙂 Thank you for joining us at HSS.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Krista … and you are right! It does look like (very intense) frosting … with the swirls of colour on the vellum. Hugs xxx

    Like

  10. Love it Andrea. Hope you had a great birthday & enjoyed your swim!!!! Thanks for all your very lovely comments on my blog too – they are really appreciated. You are way too nice!!!!
    Andrea adds: What a lovely compliment, thanks so much Vicky! Hugs xxx

    Like

  11. This card is so FUN! I love the colors and the way you chose to color block with the cute cupcakes! THanks for playing at HSS!
    Andrea adds: Thanks so much Mindy! It was a thrill to be chosen as Artist Pick. Hugs xxx

    Like

  12. very cute card
    Andrea adds: Thanks for taking the time to leave some blog love! Hugs xxx

    Like

  13. Somehow I missed seeing this one. With planning my hols & somewhat studying I’m not blurfing as often. This is stunning!!!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Fi! So nice to have your feedback. Oooh … planning hols!? Sounds exciting! Hugs xxx

    Like