EnchantINK

Happiness is stamping with friends!

A Swing Card

10 Comments

Hi bloggies!

I can’t believe it is almost a week since I last posted! Gav & I had a lovely weekend away (3 days) for our anniversary. We were given a gift voucher from Jono’s sister & hubby for doing their wedding photos … so Gav paid for a 2nd night and we had a wonderful escape in Sydney. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful hubby … who thinks it is important for us to have a weekend away together (no kids) for our anniversary. He always takes the time out … and makes sure the bookings happen. What a great guy! 🙂 It is also the last week of the month … so I am busy with invoicing etc … and work needed to take a priority … especially after having 3 days off!

Blue Hotel, Finger Wharf, Wooloomooloo, Sydney (Taj Hotel group)

So … I guess it is time for a card. I’m not sure if I will be able to do any stamping in the next couple of days … although I am keen to do the Dynamic Duos challenge again. But … at least I still have something from our stamping day at Leonies! This was a card we found on Kay Kalthoff’s blog “Stamping to Share”. It is actually not one of Kay’s cards … but was created by Cindy Standal.

This is called a swing card … and is kinda tricky to make the first time you do it. But … once you have done 1 and know what you are doing … then it is a breeze! 😉 I used Leonie’s ‘movers & shakers’ die for the Big Shot to create the heart! I am trying to figure a way to do it with my Scalloped Heart of Hearts Die (I’m sure there must be a way???) … but haven’t got around to trying it out yet! If you would like a tutorial for this type of card using the Movers & Shakers Heart Die … I have found a great video by Heather Summers —  StampwithHeather. Oh … I just noticed … I have included a link on my recipe … another tutorial by Dawn Olchefske … using the ornament die in the same way! (The recipe was prepared a while ago!!! 😉 )

Funny story about this one. I stayed at Leonie’s until after dinner … we were having so much fun. I arrived home after dark … when the dew had settled on the freshly mown lawn! This card dropped out of my bag and I ended up with some grass stains on it!!! Hence the tiny purple flowers!!! 😀 See you all again soon!

10 thoughts on “A Swing Card

  1. Grass stains or not Andrea, love the little flowers on it!!!! So glad you had a lovely weekend – good for you both!

    Like

  2. So sweet Andrea…this swing card has real swagger (or schwing!!!) I love the dry embossing and the way it all just fits. I think the way the grass contributed is gorjus. Brilliant card sweetie.
    I am also wrapped that u and Gav got away. U both deserve the time and peace that a mini break brings. ooxx

    Like

  3. Andrea
    These cards are fun to make. Love the added flowers … I believe there are no accidents! The flowers were meant to be there.
    I am going to miss the movers and shakers die for showing this technique. But I have done similar cards with the nesting ones SU carry now. I will keep my movers and shakers dies for my personal use. Did not mean to make this so long…love your card!

    Like

    • Hi Annette! Hhhmmm … nesting ones??? I have seen a couple of swing cards using Framelits … is that what you are thinking of? I guess the smaller of the “Labels Collection” (the only framelits we have here in AUS at the moment) would work? It is a slightly different design though. HhhhMMMM … will be interested to see what you mean! (If ever I find time to do some blog hopping?) Hugs xxx

      Like

  4. I’m so glad you had a happy anniversary. Be glad for your husband…mine is wonderful in so many ways but is seriously lacking in the area of vacation planning. Actually, not just lacking in planning, he truly dislikes travelling. But I knew it when I married him…so I guess I live with it!!

    I do like the card and I even like what you did with the grass stains!!??

    Like

  5. Love your swing card Andrea. The dry embossing looks fabulous & the sweet little flowers are perfect. Obviously they were meant to be there! Glad you had a lovely weekend getaway. Hugs 🙂

    Like

  6. Happy Belated Wedding Anniversary! Sorry I missed that. Looks like you went to a lovely place and had a great time!
    Such a pretty card. Love the white with the touch of color. The swinging part looks awesome! Neat technique!

    Like

  7. A really cool card, I love that it swings he he he, the colours are soft and pretty as is the flowers (no matter how they came about lol). Happy Belated Anniversary to you and your husband, glad you got to spend some quality time together its so important. Hugs Melxx

    Like

  8. I have just found your wonderful website and you do beautiful work. I love your swing card with the heart and you mentioned several other bloggers that have made a swing card with a video. I have been on their websites but cannot find their cards. I click on each of the names but it does not show the card. Can you please provide me with their websites? Thanks for your assistance.

    Linda D.

    Like