A Treat for You!

Hello everyone!

I had a bit of a play late on Saturday … still not achieving a great deal … but I did get 2 cards done … and then I also made this fantabulous origami gift box on Sunday afternoon … you will see in later pics … that this box has two sides that fold up to create a “lid” for a square box inside!

I just know that Lynda is going to be “tickled pink” (even though she isn’t that keen on pink) … to realise that I borrowed this idea from HER BRAND NEW BLOG. You can see a similar little box in the pic on her post -> “Better Late Than Never“. Lynda supplied a link to the original blog pattern designed by Vicki Hook … but Vicki’s tutorial was for a slightly larger than A4 card … so I decided to resize the pattern to fit a regular (AUS) A4 cardstock sheet … The cut size for this card is 21 x 28cm. Don’t forget … you can click on this pattern to enlarge … and then right click to print!

Aren’t I so very kind!!! 😀 😉  There are a list of instructions for assembling the box on the pattern above. *** Just one thing I forgot to say on the pattern … the ////// sticky strip is stuck on the same side as the DSP … but the xxxxx sticky strip is actually stuck onto the opposite / wrong / inside of the box!!! So … don’t forget!!! 😀   And … because I am feeling in a particularly generous mood … here are some pics as a mini tutorial!

Isn’t this a fab idea??? I am sure this is going to be one of my favourite gift packaging ideas!!! Thanks Lynda! All the extra details to create this origami gift box … can be found on my recipe card below! Oh … and you will need to make the ribbon quite long … You need to take the ribbon down & around the bottom of the box … cross it around … then take it back up to the top with enough to tie the bow. It is only attached to one side flap with adhesive – as shown in the pic above. The rest of the ribbon is just tied around the box without any glue. Does that make sense??? Or another idea (from the original design) … you could make a “belly band” with an embellishment for the top rather than using the ribbon to tie the box together. Actually … I have a notion to try that … so I will add a pic to this post … once it is done!

Looky! 😯 Looky! 😯 This second box came together soooo quickly! Once you have done 1 … it is easy peasy! And … you will probably find the “belly band” easier if you want to try this project. This one measures 30cm x 2cm and slides on and off to allow you to open the box. The butterfly is a new stamp from the Summer mini set “Butterfly Prints” and is stamped with Silver Encore Ink. The DSP is the gorgeous Parisian Breeze Specialty DSP (no longer available – Spring Mini item).

Hope you enjoyed this one! It has been a while since I have done a 3D project for you! Phew! That is certainly a long post!!! 😀 Have a happy day!

Oh … I forgot to mention … the stunning Kaleidoscope DSP is from the Summer Mini catty … and I have also used the BRAND NEW Butterfly punch (also from the Summer Mini) You really should check this fab catalogue out … JUST CLICK ON THE CATALOGUE PICTURE … and you will find a link to view this catty online!  And … please remember … I am happy to receive orders at any time … and with Sale-a-bration about to begin on Jan 25 … you can even earn a FREE stamp set if you spend $100!

And … just a reminder for those who haven’t been here before. You can open the card recipe below by clicking on it … and then “right click” to print! 😀

8 Comments

  1. These are sooo cute, and great to see the step-by-step pics – I loved Lynda’s too – so glad she’s blogging!!! I know what you mean about not achieving much – but hopefully life can become a little more normal and we can achieve everything we want!!!
    xXx
    Andrea adds: Yep! One day …… 😉

    Like

  2. Michelle Y. says:

    OMGosh you are really tempting me too look at SU! web-site to check the new products SU! has going on… I just like the feel of having the catty in hand and “drooling” over the samples! Plus having a hot cup of Chai tea is a must!!

    Back to work and school for us… and a routine! (not sure if it’s a balanced one, but it works!) This box is gorgous and so cheery… super work of ART!!

    Smiles and BIG hugs Andrea… 🙂
    Andrea adds: Right back at ya, Michelle! And … hope work isn’t too much of a drag! I am enjoying a stamping day today! Hugs xxx

    Like

  3. Kelly Mayou says:

    Congratulations! I just wanted you to know that your project will appear on the Yahoo Group Late Night Stamper’s blog finds of the day for January 5. Want to receive your own copy of the blog finds of the day? Join us at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/stampinuplnstampers/ or visit our Blog Finds of the Day Blog at http://blogfindsoftheday.blogspot.com.
    Andrea adds: Wow! It was such a surprise to read this comment … and I was thrilled that you even found my blog … let alone used one of my projects for your “Blog Finds of the Day!” Thanks so much! I will be bookmarking your blog for ideas … am off to have a good browse now! Thanks again! Hugs, Andrea xxx

    Like

  4. Lynda says:

    Wowsers Andrea….what a Mega POST!!!! I am v v impressed. I am also very tickled pink that u had a go ar the Origami Box….told u they were fun. Awesome effort re-doing it to an A4 size…..now I have to have a go at yours….LOL!!! The tute is beaut…I am not that good at blogging yet to do something like that 😉 . BOTH the DSP’s look like they were made for the project and it’s a great way to use scraps. They are such a FAB size and are deceptively large inside. Well done on all fronts my darling. Take care of yourself. ooxx.
    Andrea adds: Hey Lynda! Check out the other comments on this post!!! I was picked for “Blog Find of the Day” by a US SU! group. Wow! I didn’t even know that they knew my blog existed … and now they have used my Origami Box as a feature! And … it is all thanks to you!!! How excitement!!! And … you are soooo right … they are deceptively big inside. And … so easy to make! Thanks for the inspiration! Hugs, Andrea xxx

    Like

  5. Sarah says:

    This is gorgeous! I have to try it 🙂 I can’t design 3d projects to save my life – that’s my goal for this year, to design a new box or something!
    Andrea adds: Hey Sarah! So nice to see you back … and I was so glad to see you blogging again! I’m sure you are much more capable than me at design … and really … I didn’t design this one … just changed all the measurements!!! 😀

    Like

  6. Regina says:

    hello, Andrea

    what a absolutely AMAZING project! Such a clever idea. You have explained it so simply that everyone, anyone could follow it, even me. Thanks!

    Please, look on my blog and you can see my box.

    hugs Regina
    Andrea adds: It is so easy, too! Thanks for having a go … I will definitely stop by your blog to have a look! Hugs, Andrea xxx

    Like

  7. Swaantje says:

    Hello Andrea,
    your workshop from the wonderfu
    l box ist fantastic…thanks.

    Greetings
    Swaani
    Andrea adds: Thanks so much, Swaani for taking the time to say hi! I’m glad you liked this project.

    Like

  8. Bridget says:

    What a great box for those little Xmas gifts or any gifts for that matter. Just love it and will have to try it out, thanks.
    – Hi Bridget! So nice to see you … and I am so tickled you left a comment! Thanks for taking the time … I always appreciate the blog love that is left for me! Welcome to EnchantINK … hope to see you again soon. Thanks for reminding me about this little box! I haven’t made one in ages. And … I do love making them! Hugs xxx

    Like

Comments are closed.