Just Add Summer

on

Hi there!

I know that I did promise a “bling” card today for the SU! Only challenge … BUT … I did manage to create another card yesterday for the Just Add Ink Challenge #49 … and because this challenge has a deadline that is earlier … I have decided to post this one first! 😀 What a great challenge … JUST ADD SUMMER! Perhaps if we all think positively … summer will arrive! (I am still waiting for spring to appear!!!) 😀 I realise that we have had a few hot days … but truly … it has been pretty cool and very unsummery weather lately! It would just be nice if it didn’t rain while the kids were camping at Merry Beach … but … I guess they will just have to deal with it! 😉 Anyway … here is my SUMMERY card!!!

I just opened a NEW pack of DSP from the Summer Mini. It was perfect for this project. Lovely bright, fresh, summery colours … and a real tropical feel. This DSP is  called “Island Oasis” … and is available through until March 31.  I have actually created a frame with this DSP with a scallop edge around the inside. This was a little tricky getting the sizing right … so if you would like to try it … I have included “how to” on my card recipe! The flowers are created using Glossy White card … white embossing … and some sponged colour! Yummy! 😀 Some knotted satin ribbon & rhinestone jewels finish it off perfectly! 😀 It was so nice to create something other than Christmas!!!!! 😉 Thanks so much to the JAI girls for such a fun challenge! I will be back tomorrow with my bling card! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

7 Comments

  1. Gabbi says:

    This is very summery indeed! Love the bright colours!
    You are right about the weather – if only it felt like summer!!
    Thanks for sharing!
    -Gabbi
    and Laura (Miss 8) 🙂
    Andrea adds: A special hello to Laura! Thanks for sharing my cards with her! It is lovely that you have someone to share in your card making fun! I bet she is keen to be crafting! My two girls at home aren’t that “into it”! But … Stacey enjoys it … just has no time! 😀 So … that is why I blog … so I have someone to share my creations with!!! Giggle!!!! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  2. Great card Andrea, it is so bright and cheery. I am liking this paper more and more.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Karen! I am eager to have another play with this DSP! Thanks for popping by! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  3. Maryanne says:

    nice colour combination Andrea –

    Looking for Summer? come over to the West for some melting hot weather!!
    Andrea adds: I know … you poor things … you must be melting! Hope it improves soon! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  4. Lynda says:

    All this card is missin Andrea is a cocktail (or mocktail) a pool and a Cabana boy (with a nice tummy of abs….mmmmmmmmmmm) but i digress…LOL!! LURVE the scallop frame….it looks MAD and I also love the embossed/sponged flowers. Knotted ribbon adds a great interest point as well. Fun, fresh and funky….SUMMER to the MAX!!
    Now all we need is Summer to arrive!!! ooxx
    Andrea adds: Yes …….. that is all we need! Am giggling at the picture that you have put in my head! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  5. Oooh, that does look tricky! Very effective though! I love it!
    Andrea adds: Just took a few attempts to get the sizing right … but it is easy enough once you have those details! Thanks for stopping by! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  6. Sandra A says:

    Love the sponged flowers Andrea. The perfect touch of summer!!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 It’s nice to have a bit of time to check out what everyones doing now that Christmas is over and things are getting back to normal 🙂 I’m not looking forward to real hot summer though
    Andrea adds: No … but even a mild summer would be nice at the moment! 😀 It is nice to see other than Christmas … isn’t it! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  7. Kim S says:

    Wow! This is so wonderfully bright and summery! I am definitely doing the flowers at some point! You wrote up perfect instructions for the scalloped frame, but even with them I have a lot of scraps in my garbage can. I’m going to keep trying, it’s a wonderful look!

    I’m glad you got a chance to make a card!
    Andrea adds: LOL! I had plenty of scraps too! 😀 When it comes to somthing a little tricky or new … nothing can replace a personal demo! I wish I could pop over and show you … but I do hope you manage to get it right! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

Comments are closed.