Thoughts for You!

Hello everyone!

I am still watching the coverage of the floods with an open mouth! Can you believe the immense amount of water??? It is totally inconceivable … isn’t it. 😯 12 dead … and still 74 missing! It seems a little trivial to be posting cards on my blog. But … there is really nothing I can do except pray … and watch (& donate, of course!). Like so many here in NSW. Today’s card is a double challenge card … click on challenge pics to visit challenge sites & see some other stunning samples!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I used my new lattice embossing folder … isn’t this a clever effect …

So … sometimes I create something and feel satisfied with the result … until I start checking out some of the other gorgeous entries for the challenge! This is one of those cards. But … I did want to show you this double embossing technique … that is so effective! Can you see how I have layered the die-cut leaves & the Cherry Cobbler scallop border card onto the white card. I added a little 2 way glue to hold these in place … and then ran the whole “layered” card through the Big Shot with the embossing folder! The embossing presses the layers together … so they almost look like a single piece of card. (The “Just Believe” stamping  on the white card was done first!)

Anyway … I had better keep going … Christine is coming up today to do some stamping. So … I had better go get organised! If I am a little slow posting over the next few days … just know that it is because I have finally got too fed up with my internet! Since a wind storm about a month ago … our internet has been dropping in and out! It takes 10 times longer to do anything … loading pages sometimes takes several attempts! It has got to the point that I am going insane! So … I need to “de-stress” … and hopefully Gav will get some satisfaction from our provider sometime soon! (How often does this happen to us?) So … I will see you asap! Fingers crossed it will be tomorrow! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

11 Comments

  1. Lynda says:

    I saw this technique on Jenny H’s blog simply done with stars and it looked FAB….but this takes it to another level all together!! I am loving this folder so much and I simply love the dimensional feel of this card, even tho ‘flat”. Magical!!
    I too am gobsmacked at the devestation in Qld. Someone described it as ‘of Biblical probortions’ and that is the most accurate one I have heard. You do feel small, but I am going thru the kids stuff and culling small sized clothes, toys etc to go when needed. It is only small, but at least it’s something.
    Take care of you, hope you sis in Toowoomba is doing OK and have fun with Christine today. ooxx
    Andrea adds: This card is growing on me … not sure why I am “iffy” … but I do like the technique! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  2. Gabbi says:

    This is a beautiful card – I love the texture – its gives lots of depth & it is hard to tell what has been stamped, and what are layers of cardstock.
    Like you, we are shocked with the amount of water around Brisbane & all the horror stories that are being told. It is so sad. I’m sure there are lots of good stories too – perhaps these will come out eventually.
    I hope you have a lovely day.
    Thanks for sharing,
    -Gabbi 🙂
    Andrea adds: Thanks Gabbi! Hope you are having a lovely holiday. It is good to see the “worst” is over … although there are still many missing. I feel for their families! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  3. Leonie says:

    gorgeous!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Leonie! I am so sad I haven’t had much time for blog hopping lately! But … I will try and pop by soon! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  4. WOW Andrea I love this double embossing technique!! Very pretty card 🙂 I’ve seen the flooding over there on the news, it’s just unimaginable. I hope you have some luck with your internet soon!
    Andrea adds: Thanks Kerin! Internet probs are intermittent. Seems to be a bit better today. Fingers crossed it will continue! 😀 Thanks for visiting! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  5. Kim S says:

    I love this technique! I was trying to figure out whether you had sponged it or something and then after you explained it, I am still amazed that it looks like one sheet of paper.

    I am absolutely boggled by what is going on over there. I have to admit that I am a total failure at geography so I had to pull out maps and figure out where the flooding is and where my blogging buddies are. Our news announcers say that the flooding is the size of a couple of our states. Wow!
    Andrea adds: I am a little the same with the US states … not too good on the geography of them! Yes … we heard the size of France & Germany together! 😯 Thanks for popping by to comment. I always love to have you visit! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  6. I soooo know what you mean about the floods Andrea – it’s just inconceivable!!! I know ALL Aussies are doing what they can – but the task is sooo BIG! One of my MDUC teamies is in QLD and she says they are just trying to be as normal as possible – her town in cut off but all is OK. Life does go on and I know she needs the distraction of her craft – and there will be others out there too – so we try to keep things as normal as possible too – while doing all we can!
    All that being said – your card IS fabulous – LOVE the texutred effect over the stamping! And hope YOUR neck of this Big Sponge we call Australia is dry!
    xXx
    Andrea adds: We are quite dry … really. We have had lots of rain over spring / summer … but none of the torrential downloads that Q’ld has had. Ours has just been usual rain … but just lots of wet days. Nothing to cause any trouble. Our dam is full … but that is fine! Our tanks are full … so we can enjoy longer showers (for a little while!) Thanks for your care. Hope you coping with the downpours that are coming through VIC today. Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  7. Sandra A says:

    Beautiful card Andrea. So beautiful in fact that I literally fell off my chair while reading this post! One of the legs of the chair I was sitting on broke. I knew that I had put on a little weight over Christmas/New Year but really 😛 …… I’ll just tell everyone I was in awe by such a stunning card! hee hee 🙂
    Andrea adds: Sigh … between replying to Kerin’s comment … and Sandra’s (here) … my internet is misbehaving again! I will soldier on. 😀 Oooh … thanks for the enthusiastic response … but truly … falling off your chair isn’t necessary!!!!!!! Perhaps a little more running … and a little less stamping??? What!!!!! 😯 Wash my mouth out!!! 😀 Thanks for popping by, Sandra! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  8. chrissieah says:

    Thanks for the stamping day! It was fun and I was glad to get those 3 cards done. I really have to set aside some more time for stamping before I go back to work!
    Andrea adds: I hope you didn’t pack all your stuff away! Get it out and get stamping, sis! 😀 Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  9. Monika/buzsy says:

    So pretty Andrea. One of my fav flower images. :o) Love how you embossed the background with the image. :o)
    Andrea adds: Hello! Thanks for your lovely comments! Not a fav card for me … but it is nice to get the lovely feedback from everyone! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  10. Very cool effect with the double embossing — will definitely need to try that! Thanks so much for playing along with the Stamping 411 Operators this week! keep up the great work! Blessings, Gretchen
    Andrea adds: I do hope you try this technique, Gretchen! It is a fab effect! Thanks for saying hi! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  11. liamp says:

    Gorgeous job. Love what you have done with the square lattice embossing folder. Just perfect. Hearing about the floods just sends a chill down my spine. It is just so scary to know that it was just in our neighbouring state. I was devastated when I heard about the floods in Queensland. I hope you are well and I thought I would pop in and say hello. Since I have a moment to check up on my regular blogs.

    Liam
    Andrea adds: Hi Liam! So nice to see you! I am hoping to do some blurfing today! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

Comments are closed.