Eat Chocolate sketch card

on

Sandy - Yr 7 repHi there my friends!

Well … another busy day … but a lovely one! Sandy was inducted onto the Student Council this morning as 1 of 2 Year 7 reps. So … grandma & I went down to the school to share the moment. He had been asked to do the Bible Reading … so I had another proud mum moment!  I am just happy that he doesn’t worry about it being too “uncool” for him to be involved in serving in this role. Go Sandy! And … it was an opportunity to remind him that HE is important to us … because I had to leave our gorgeous grand-daughter at home with Stacey … and missed out on lotsa cuddles … so I could be there to give him a hug after his ceremony. 🙂 That put a smile on his face to realise he still mattered! Isn’t it lovely that even 13 year old boys still love to feel special! But … not to worry … I did hurry home afterwards and had a lovely time with Bree & Stacey.

Today’s card is based on the latest sketch from Stamping 411! How do they come up with such great ideas week after week? I had fun creating this card … because I got to break out my brand new stamp set … “Eat Chocolate”! It is just the “funnest” stamp set that SU! has released in a while! Cute Cute phrases! 😀 Click sketch to visit challenge site & see all the other gorgeous creations. 

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Here is my fun card ….

So … isn’t this fab!!! I am sure this is gonna be a fav stamp set! And … it is a generic one … because you can have the fun on the front of the card … and then add a more specific phrase on the inside and make it for any occasion! Did you notice the Decorative Label Punch??? Another ‘newbie’ … and designed to work perfectly with this chocolate stamp! I’m loving it!

Now … so you don’t think that Stacey and I just sit around playing with babies all day … we did spend some time today creating some pink baby thank yous! I will show you those another day! We got 32 made … but I am sure that I will be doing some more sometime soon. Everyone has been so lovely and generous to Stace, Jono & little Bree. And … to me!! I have had such lovely cards … Leonie gave me a gorgeously embroidered towel to use for Bree and my bestie, Tania gave me the sweetest baby carriage charm for my pandora bracelet! We are all sooo spoilt! 😀

Hope you all have a great weekend. Mine will be super busy again. Tomorrow morning – nursing home visit … tomorrow arvo – last minute mother’s day shopping (I still have nothing for my mum!) … Sunday morning — church … Sunday arvo — afternoon tea with both mum’s HERE … Sunday dinner — with my beautiful and wonderful family. They are cooking for me! Yum!!! I probably won’t see you until Monday … so HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY everyone! I hope it is a really special day on Sunday … and that you all feel very much loved and appreciated. Hasn’t Stacey timed Bree’s birth well!!! Just in time for mother’s day! 😀 😉 Hugs xxaxx

9 Comments

  1. Helen H says:

    Hi Andrea, sorry it’s been a while.
    Congratulations to Sandy. What an honour to be awarded the rep role. Definitely a proud Mum moment!
    Love your card – the blues & browns (or should I say chocolate?) are gorgeous.
    Enjoy your first Mothers Day as a Nanna!!! 🙂
    Andrea adds: Thanks Helen … I’m sure it will be a special day. So nice to have you pop by again! I have missed you! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  2. Gabbi says:

    Hi Andrea,
    Love this card! It is so cute – and as you said, so versatile! 🙂 Love that new punch too! (When you do the shadow behind the first punch, do you take out the middle section (or trim the sides), so only the two ends form a shadow?) Early Espresso is a great colour for the chocolate stamp!!!
    What a lovely day – it sounds like you had a great day enjoying your family – what a blessing!! Congratulations to Sandy, and I’m so glad you get to cuddle Bree often. 🙂
    Hope you have a great day tomorrow, and that your mum and dad’s anniversary is indeed a celebration (even though they are not living under the same roof – after 51 years, I’m sure their hearts are as one).
    Enjoy Mother’s ( and Nandy’s 😉 ) Day! It is a great day for families to celebrate many blessings! (and enjoy being spolit 😉 )
    ♡ Love Gabbi ♡
    I’ll catch up with next week (even though its going to be busy!)
    Andrea adds: What a beautiful comment, Gabbi! So caring and thoughtful … and understanding! It felt like a big hug! How clever to add those hearts around your sig … how did you do that??? 😉 I just cut through the centre of the punched shadow piece and move the two sections apart a little and glue to back of stamped image. Then I trim the tiny excess that is showing on the sides. Does that make sense? I do hope you have a lovely Mother’s Day, too! (Might even see you … if we get up your way on Sunday! It would be a nice follow up to Sandy’s 1st yg outing!) Hugs xxaxx

    Like

    1. Gabbi says:

      I cut and pasted from here (with a bit of fiddling):

      http://www.msnsymbols.com/shapes/msn-heart-symbol/

      (which I found doing a google search with the words “love heart symbol wordpress” ).

      Other places suggest you type ” ♥ ” to insert a heart (as from : http://codex.wordpress.org/Fun_Character_Entities )

      When I did it I crossed my fingers that it would work!

      Have a great day!
      -Gabbi
      Andrea adds: “♥” to Gabbi … for kindly sharing her investigations with me. Seems a lot of effort … if you don’t have a number lock on your keyboard! 😀 But … thanks for the tips! Hugs xxaxx
      PS “♥” “♥” “♥” “♥” Woo hoo! It worked! ( I did the typing &hearts in “;” thingy!) ♥ (without the “”) xx

      Like

      1. Gabbi says:

        OK that proved it worked!!!!! – I will type it with spaces so you can see it, but don’t put the spaces in, and then it works!!!!!
        & hearts ; (I put a space after the & and before the ; , but if you don’t you get ♥ )
        So clever!!
        Andrea adds: LOL … we are pathetic … aren’t we! 🙄 But … we are female! We like the frills and bows! Hugs xxaxx

        Like

  3. Kim S says:

    Sandy sounds like a great kid! And I am so glad he still lets you hug him!

    Love the card. Love how you layered the brown behind the punch. And I know I am definitely NOT a quitter!
    Andrea adds: Hi Kim! So nice to see you! I bet I have heaps to catch up with on your blog! Hopefully tonight! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  4. Vicky says:

    No matter how old they are, they still need to feel special! You must have felt very proud! I love your choco-card – something tells me that stamp set is going to be very popular!
    Andrea adds: Yes … Vicky! And … it is sooo nice that they still want that approval in their mum’s eyes! Even at 13! I love him to bits! I am loving that stamp set … just wish I hd more time to play! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  5. Lynda says:

    This is gunna be a v v hard card for me to comment on…because you realise…on principal I cannot condone a sugar rich card….paper and ink or not!!!! (hee hee hee). I will endorse however the FAB colour combo and i love the dry embossing. The bow is luscious and WOW beyond words!! I am a MASSIVE fan of the Designer Label Punch. I hope we get the Four Frames set out here, cause these are also made for this punch and are Lovely!!
    Please congratulate Sandy for me on his grand honour. I can imagine you and ur mum sitting there, you shedding a silent tear of pride and love as he reads his special and cherished words.
    Relish Sunday ad you not only celebrate the honour of being a mother, but also that of a daughter and g’mother. Whilst there is sadness about, there is also so much to celebrate….recalled to you thru those tiny eyes and adorable grand daughter. ooxx
    Andrea adds: I have decided that you must try to outdo yourself every time you leave a comment on my blog. Just when I think you have said all you can … you find something else lovely to add! I’m sorry my blog hopping has been very neglected lately. I am hoping to do some tonight! HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO YOU … MY FRIEND … I hope all your kids appreciate you as much as I do! Hugs xxaxx

    Like

  6. Sonia G says:

    Go Sandy! It’s funny how you can hold onto ‘baby’ status for a long time…. and don’t we all know that he’ll always be precious…. and YOUR baby.

    Gotta love those 411 sketches. I haven’t had a chance to play this week. But I am glad that you have! It’s fantastic.

    Yes that set is a winner! I mean anything to with chocolate certainly couldn’t fail.

    Enjoy your Mothers Day! It sounds like you will be super busy surrounded by those you love… And Happy 1st Mothers Day to Stacey, may she endure a million BREEmade cards and toast in bed in the years to come! LOL!

    Cheers
    Sonia
    Andrea adds: I hope Jono remembers Mother’s Day for Stace!!!! But … she did get a lovely diamond/ruby heart pendant when she had Bree … so I think he probably has done enough! And … happy mother’s day to you too! You deserve lotsa spoiling … after all you do for everyone else! Hugs xxaxx
    PS Missed the deadline for the challenge! Dang it!!! 🙄

    Like

  7. Donna says:

    Hi Andrea, CONGRATS on being a proud mom again. It was so nice to think he was ALLOWED to say a prayer/bible reading. We are so banned from that here in the states. Such a sad state of affairs. COuld rant on that subject but I will not. Blessings my friend enjoy all of these precious moments! ~Hugs Donna
    Andrea adds: It isn’t banned here … yet … in the public system … but they don’t promote it at all. Thankfully we are at a small Christian School … where it is encouraged! I can imagine the ranting … but I do think that it will change … people have got to start realising soon the effect of turning away from God. But … I guess we are also very slow learners! Thanks for your lovely message. Hugs xxaxx

    Like

Comments are closed.