Sympathy Design

Hi bloggies!

I am still plodding through my bookwork … but with lots of interruptions! I thought I would take a ‘coffee break’ and pop a post up for you! 😀 (Truth be told … I would rather hang out with you guys than at my work desk!!! 😉 ) I sat down on Sunday to make this card … I needed it quickly … so went looking for some inspiration! What better place to start … than my ‘to CASE’ file … where I found this gorgeous sample. (Click on the picture to visit Laurie Willison‘s wonderful blog!)

I can imagine this design would be suitable for so many different occasion cards … but it is perfect as a sympathy. For some reason though, I just couldn’t get the colour right in the pics. It is meant to be Baja Breeze … but it almost looks like an old fav of mine “Sage Shadow”! I am wishing I used a more ‘striking’ background colour … like Laurie did … but I am pretty happy with the result!

I hope you are all having a great day! Take care … see you soon! Hugs xx

7 Comments

  1. Lynda says:

    I really loved Sage Shadow too!!! This card is just wonderful…esp given the occasion. Love the copper EP…really suits the Sweet Summer flourish huh?? Love the colour combo too. ooxx
    – Thanks Lynda! It is a shame SS has gone … but I do have some new favs!!! The Sweet Summer set is sooooo versatile! Thanks for popping by again! Hugs xxx

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    A lovely card for a sympathy card, i really find these cards hard to do, I guess its the reason most probably, but still I do find them most difficult, but your card is lovely, almost serene, funny, i too love the sage shadow colour, I miss it now that its gone (and no more left in my stash either 😦 ). but baja breeze is a terrific colour choice, oh my goodness, will stop waffling now lol, catch you soon Melxx
    – Keep on with the waffling, Mel! It makes me smile … and it is always nice to be able to smile! 🙂 Take care! Hugs xxx

    Like

  3. I like your CASE better than the original. Love the sentiment too. Great job.
    Andrea adds – What a lovely blog friend … so encouraging! thanks Fi! Hugs xxx

    Like

  4. Laurie W says:

    I love your card! The bow is just perfect and that verse is amazing! Thank you so much for the shout out!
    Andrea adds – I am so glad you popped by Laurie! Thanks for the lovely feedback and the wonderful inspiration! Hugs xxx

    Like

  5. Katie Ridden says:

    Lovely card for a very sad occassion. It would definately make someone feel loved and appreciated at a time like this.

    Might have to stash it away in my Case file too as sympathy cards are definately the hardest ones to do… always hard to choose the right sentiment.
    Andrea adds – I think I might pop over to ‘Our Daily Bread’ and order a few more of their lovely sentiments and Bible verses! Sometimes they come in really handy – especially for sympathy cards!! Hugs xxx

    Like

  6. Monika/buzsy says:

    Oh, how pretty… the embossing (both heat and dry) looks great and that verse is perfect! Lovely colors too! Hope you are doing good friend! Let me know about the subscription to my blog… wondering what the problem might be…
    Andrea adds – Well … with my computer down at the moment … I’m not getting any emails … but once it is up and running again … I will check and see whether they are coming! Thanks for your concern! Hugs xxx

    Like

  7. Helen H says:

    Beautifully done Andrea. The colours are gorgeous & the touch of copper embossing is a lovely addition.
    Andrea adds: Thanks Helen! I do kinda like this one myself! Wish I could take the credit … though! 😉 Hugs xxx

    Like

Comments are closed.